Banana Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I loved how easy this was. I made it for my husbands birthday cake and it was awesome! I left out the rum and added vanilla and I think maybe cutting down on the milk maybe to 3/4 cup or maybe 1/2 cup. I would like it a little thicker. But overall it was real tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Tastes like banana cream pie!! I was so glad to have found this recipe since all other frosting/icing recipes called for confectioners sugar, which I didn't have at the time. I used it on the Banana Cake II recipe, to which I added chocolate chips, and it was wonderful! Tips: I used rum extract instead of straight rum. A large wisk makes "folding in" very easy. Quick and easy to make. Thanks Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Well it tasted great but much to runny. I dont have a food processor I used a hand mixer and still couldn't get it thick. I think like the other lady, the milk should be cut down to 1/2 cup.I have another recipe that calls for a 12 oz tub of cool whip with only 1/2 cup milk and 3 oz cream chease and 1 pudding mix. So how does this one get a full cup of milk? I'll keep working on it because it did taste good. Kept it in the fridge overnight so it wouldn't run. and it was ok then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I used this recipe to top my son's cupcakes for his second birthday. I cut the milk in half as suggested and left out the rum, using about 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead. I also refrigerated the frosting until right before serving so it would remain thick enough not to slide off the cupcakes. My husband loved the frosting as did my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I reduced the amount of milk to 1/2 cup like other reviewers suggested. It still came out a little more runny than I preferred, but my guests loved it. I baked two 8-inch round devil's food cakes. Rather than frosting it completelt, I "sandwiched" the filling between the two layers, added a dollop on top, and drizzled it with a little chocolate sauce. (I left the sides unfrosted.) It turned out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This is a great little recipe if you want a quick, simple frosting/filling. I added sliced bananas to the middle of a devil's food chocolate cake along with this filling, turned out great. It doesn't make the prettiest cake, just the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I made this recipe and it was very tasty but a little runny. I read the prior reviews and thought I could stabilize with cream of tartar however that didn't work. Next time I'll cut down on the milk and use the cream of tartar...I'll let everyone know my results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NPCYOURS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Thanks for this recipe!! I did follow the advise from a few of the other users and used less milk but other than that, the recipe was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I love this recipe! I needed something quick and easy for a picky husband and found this. I substituted regular rum with Cap't Morgans Spiced Rum (because it was only one I had) but it tastes sooo good!. I used it as a topping for banana cupcakes then garnished with star fruit, strawberries and kiwi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I used others people's suggestions and cut back on the amount of milk and the frosting came out perfect!!!! It's light, and airy and full of banana flavor. I am using this frosting on my banana cake recipe, I can not wait to try it on my cake.(I always make my cakes the day before and let the ingredients settle before adding my filling) This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing such an easy, great tasting recipe. My only regret is that I can not give it more stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States