Banana Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It is just okay - not nasty or anything but taste just too much like cool whip and fake banana flavor from the pudding - I thought adding the fresh banana would give it a fresh taste but it still has that fake banana taste to it. This makes the cake taste more like a dessert rather than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Yummy, just use less milk or it's too runny. 1/2-3/4 cup of milk worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I followed the directions, except to add less milk (1/2 c) as many people have recommended. It ended up being a nice thick frosting but I did not like the flavor nor did my friends. They said the rum didn't go well with it and it didn't taste banana-y enough. I'm not sure if I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This my favorite frosting to make, mostly based on how easy it is. I use it whenever possible, and people love it! For anyone feeling adventurous, Cool Whip has seasonal flavors like French Vanilla. I just used it in a recent batch, and it tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This frosting was outstanding, tasted just like banana pudding! As others said frosting is a little thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I followed other recommendations and used vanilla instead of rum and only 1/2 cup milk. It was awesome on the Banana Cake also featured on allrecipes.com. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I just wanted to ask, this is my first time making frosting from scratch, do i make the pudding mix before combining the ingredients or just add the mix as an ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
A good choice if you're looking for a whipped cream-based frosting with a banana undertone. I was surprised how subtle the banana was conidering the banana pudding and mashed fresh banana in the recipe. The frozen whipped topping really cut the banana flavor, which I personally liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was the BEST banana frosting we have had so far! Wonderful banana flavor! The only problem I had was that it was too thin - I may have measured wrong somewhere, but will defiantly make again! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was very easy and turned out better than I expected. I was using this to frost cupcakes and was worried about it being too runny. I made this about 8 hours before frosting the cupcakes and I let it sit in the fridge to thicken. I didn't have any rum, so I used a little rum extract instead. It turned out to be a creamy frosting with lots of banana flavor, and it didn't run off my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States