Banana Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This dessert had really good favors but it never set. I read other reviews and tried some suggestion. Made ahead of time never set in fridge so froze but either way never set. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerrietp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very yummy! I made this with ripe bananas rather than firm, and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. Worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pattymatheny
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was awesome, the only thing I changed was I used Vanilla wafers for the crust, as one other viewer stated, I put it in the freezer to have it setup for a few hours, and I didn't use pecans on top of it because they don't like pecans so I used some of the leftover crumbs from the vanilla wafers, all of my family loved it, and you really don't need the pecans it was so awesome , thanks for the awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattymatheny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyatt, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Delicious and just right for the warm days! Would bake the crust for at least 10 minutes and cool before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Loved it! This was really good. My whole family loved this. I did drizzle a little bit of chocolate on the slices of pie. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The sour cream/pudding didn't exactly mix right. It set up fine for me in the freezer but showed signs of being runny as the edges thawed. I think the pudding mix should be gently stirred into the cool whip, and the sour cream folded in, not the other way around. I've made soft frosting before that started out mixing pudding into cool whip, and I liked the result I got from that, so I might try this again switching the method around. I had no issues with the crust or the bananas. I did use chocolate graham crackers because I had some open and didn't have regular graham open. The flavor was very well-received. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 07, May '11. This dessert was a huge hit in our house and with the company too. After reading the other reviews and the problems they had serving this, I put mine in the freezer. It was in the freezer about 18 hours before I put it in the refrigerator to thaw. I removed the sides right before serving (after 8 hours in the frig) The dessert had thawed and sliced and served nicely. As I'm writing this review I realize I forgot the chopped pecans. Everyone loved this dessert and I will definitely be making it again. I would suggest the freezing method rather than the refrigeration method to get this dessert to set up. Thanks Angel for shaing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe had a high annoyance factor. First I had trouble combining the pudding and sour cream and then it didn't set up well even though it was in the coldest part of my fridge for at least 18 hours so it was very sloppy looking when served. I didn't have enough room for it in the freezer. The flavor was good, but my family just wasn't wowed. Thanks Angel, for the opportunity to try something new
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This didn't set very well and I made it the day before. It ended up being very messy at serving time but the flavor was good. Next time I will freeze it before taking the sides off of the pan. I used chocolate wafer crumbs for the crust and topped it with chocolate crumbs instead of nuts due to an allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I couldn't get the beaters on my hand mixer to beat the sour ceam and pudding mix for two minutes, it was getting stringy. I added the whipped topping and mixed it all up then added the bananas. Let it chill for 6 hours and still not set very well. It is now in the freezer. I added a little shaved chocolate on the top instead of nuts. Good banana flavor, like eating a banana cream pie, nice crunch from the crust. I had a real problem even after freezing and defrosting with getting the crust off my springform base. It glued itself on there. Was still not set well. Thanks Angel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States