Banana Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
EXCELLENT. I had 6 bananas to try to use up and I put 4 in this recipe instead of 2, which made for a thicker cheesecake. It probably could've been made in a 10" instead of a 9" pan. Because it was about to overflow, I cooked it in a water bath at 300F for 90 min and it came out without a crack (and didn't overflow!) Topped it with the Banana Butter Icing from this website, and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alix Raymond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent. Everyone, about 15 people, absolutely loved it. The only change I made was to use vanilla bean instead of extract in the topping. To do this you have to cook the bean with the milk and strain it for any bean strings before adding to the the egg yolk mixture. I too found the topping to be a bit runny but it did set up once it was chilled through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Everyone raved about this cheesecake. I did make a few changes just to the topping. 1. I added sliced banana on top of the cake. 2. I was not happy with the topping so I improvised with 1 small box banana cream pudding add 3/4 cup milk and 1/2 tub of Fat Free cool whip. I mixed pudding and milk folded in topping and put on top of banana slices using a cake decorating tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Fabulous recipe! hyatttm included every step to prepare this cheesecake, making it easier for anyone who has never before tried to make a cheesecake. It came out perfect, the best consistency of any I’ve made! I was a bit intimidated by the topping recipe, but I’m glad I tried it. It was easier than I expected, came out perfect, and completely changed the experience of eating this delicious dessert. The cheesecake itself is very rich and dense, but the topping adds a light creaminess that allows you to come up for air and then dive back into that intoxicating richness. Banana flavor was not overpowering, but definitely present. Everyone loves it! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is an outstanding cheesecake. The only change I made to the recipe was in the crust due a personal preference. I just buttered the pan and rolled vanilla wafer crumbs around the inside of the pan till it was lightly coated and didn't bake the crust. Cake got rave reviews from about 25 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
If you like bananas and banana desserts, you will love this cheesecake. I only made the crust and the cheesecake (no topping) and used 4 bananas and no banana liqueur. Before serving, I topped the cheesecake with a layer of caramel and sprinkled with ground walnuts. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Papatia
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this cheesecake yesterday. If you follow the instructions exactly as it is written, you will get good results. The base came out perfect with a great taste and the texture of a New York style cheesecake. I am not going to try the topping as I will make a heavy whipping cream frosting for it and cover the top and sides. I will put a cherry on top. Perfect cheesecake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious! Softer/mushier than baked cheesecakes usually are, which is how I like it. I used graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers because that's what I had available. Like another reviewer suggested, I used the banana butter icing recipe on this site as topping to avoid the unflavored gelatin and heavy cream. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I love this recipe, i double the crust and add mini chocolate chips, i dont use the topping, but this is a great cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This cheesecake is a great idea. I used 1 cup of pureed banana in place of the sour cream, as they have the same moisture content. This made a nice, thick, and banana flavored cheesecake. I did not have any banana liqueur, so I am sure that the flavor would have been even better with that. I would make a few changes the next time I made this. I would add a double layer of vanilla wafers and greatly reduce the amount of whipped cream in the topping. I felt like I could not taste the pudding after folding in the whipped cream. Also, I would add pieces of walnuts somewhere else in the cheesecake because they are not that noticeable in the crust. Overall, a great recipe-it was devoured at a potluck I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States