Banana Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is an outstanding cheesecake. The only change I made to the recipe was in the crust due a personal preference. I just buttered the pan and rolled vanilla wafer crumbs around the inside of the pan till it was lightly coated and didn't bake the crust. Cake got rave reviews from about 25 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent! I made this for a bridal shower (the bride-to-be loves bananas) and it was a hit with all the guests. However, I had challenges with the topping ... is the gelatin mixture supposed to be cool, cold or set? I used it cold (not set) and mixed it into my whipped topping ... which then became very soft, almost liquid. I stuck this in the freezer to chill it again and after some time, was able to spread it on the cheesecake. It tasted fine, looked fine ... but I am still confused if there is a better way to make the final topping. However, anyone who loves bananas and cheesecake will enjoy this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent. Everyone, about 15 people, absolutely loved it. The only change I made was to use vanilla bean instead of extract in the topping. To do this you have to cook the bean with the milk and strain it for any bean strings before adding to the the egg yolk mixture. I too found the topping to be a bit runny but it did set up once it was chilled through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
absolutely wonderful - everyone raved about this - i made it for my husband for his birthday and he could not eat enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Fabulous recipe! hyatttm included every step to prepare this cheesecake, making it easier for anyone who has never before tried to make a cheesecake. It came out perfect, the best consistency of any I’ve made! I was a bit intimidated by the topping recipe, but I’m glad I tried it. It was easier than I expected, came out perfect, and completely changed the experience of eating this delicious dessert. The cheesecake itself is very rich and dense, but the topping adds a light creaminess that allows you to come up for air and then dive back into that intoxicating richness. Banana flavor was not overpowering, but definitely present. Everyone loves it! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This tasted just delicious. I used fat free graham crackers and fat free cream cheese, and you couldn't tell! I was unable to find unflavored gelatin, so I used some strawberry-banana gelatin and although it made the cream pink, it was great!! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I decided to try this out only with the cheesecake base, to see if the flavor was what I was looking for, before I messed with the topping. The flavor was good, but the texture didn't seem like cheesecake to me. The banana made it less smooth and creamy than I'd prefer, although it could have been that I didn't mash the banana smooth enough. Not exactly what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Absolutely loved it. Reminded me of Cheesecake Factory. The only thing I changed was I added more vanilla wafers (almost tripled the original portion) and took the walnuts out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Everyone raved about this cheesecake. I did make a few changes just to the topping. 1. I added sliced banana on top of the cake. 2. I was not happy with the topping so I improvised with 1 small box banana cream pudding add 3/4 cup milk and 1/2 tub of Fat Free cool whip. I mixed pudding and milk folded in topping and put on top of banana slices using a cake decorating tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
It was good. But I didn't think it was good enough for all the effort and time it took to make. My husband did love it though! I think it might be better if there were chuncks of bananas through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinWebster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States