Banana Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
If you like bananas and banana desserts, you will love this cheesecake. I only made the crust and the cheesecake (no topping) and used 4 bananas and no banana liqueur. Before serving, I topped the cheesecake with a layer of caramel and sprinkled with ground walnuts. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Super recipe. I made it in my foods class last week, however had to change the recipe up a bit because the school (of course) wouldn't allow the banana liquor. We looked around in the kitchen for something else banana...but couldn't find anything. So we used some almond extract. Still tasted good. Ill definitely make this recipe again WITH the liquor. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INCREASE_the_PEACE*

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guernsey, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Papatia
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this cheesecake yesterday. If you follow the instructions exactly as it is written, you will get good results. The base came out perfect with a great taste and the texture of a New York style cheesecake. I am not going to try the topping as I will make a heavy whipping cream frosting for it and cover the top and sides. I will put a cherry on top. Perfect cheesecake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This cheesecake is a great idea. I used 1 cup of pureed banana in place of the sour cream, as they have the same moisture content. This made a nice, thick, and banana flavored cheesecake. I did not have any banana liqueur, so I am sure that the flavor would have been even better with that. I would make a few changes the next time I made this. I would add a double layer of vanilla wafers and greatly reduce the amount of whipped cream in the topping. I felt like I could not taste the pudding after folding in the whipped cream. Also, I would add pieces of walnuts somewhere else in the cheesecake because they are not that noticeable in the crust. Overall, a great recipe-it was devoured at a potluck I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
this was amazing! Everyone loved it and thought it was delicious. I did make some changes though. Very minor however. I put 5 bananas in the cheesecake mixture in order to make it thicker. Also I used crushed pecan sandies and melted butter as the crust, instead of vanilla wafers and nuts. I did not use a water bath, and my cheesecake came out wonderfully still, with no cracks. I put a layer of sliced bananas on top of the cheesecake after it cooled over night. Topped with the whipped topping and topped that with crushed pecan sandies. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
this was amazing....i made one for a holiday party at work and here it is months later i have gotten several request to make it again..people who hate cheesecake love this cheesecake...omg this is an unbelieveable cake and worth every calorie....awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
EXCELLENT. I had 6 bananas to try to use up and I put 4 in this recipe instead of 2, which made for a thicker cheesecake. It probably could've been made in a 10" instead of a 9" pan. Because it was about to overflow, I cooked it in a water bath at 300F for 90 min and it came out without a crack (and didn't overflow!) Topped it with the Banana Butter Icing from this website, and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
We just didn't like this very much. The texture came out much softer than other cheesecakes I have made, tasted not-quite-done. It was quite labor intensive to make, and no one felt it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
It was good. But I didn't think it was good enough for all the effort and time it took to make. My husband did love it though! I think it might be better if there were chuncks of bananas through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinWebster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Everyone raved about this cheesecake. I did make a few changes just to the topping. 1. I added sliced banana on top of the cake. 2. I was not happy with the topping so I improvised with 1 small box banana cream pudding add 3/4 cup milk and 1/2 tub of Fat Free cool whip. I mixed pudding and milk folded in topping and put on top of banana slices using a cake decorating tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States