Banana Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce, no shortening, 3 T of dry milk powder (in place of liquid milk), and only 1 cup of sugar. It is now my family's favorite banana bread recipe, even beating out the cocoa chocolate chip banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was GREAT! Made it for our Mother's Day get together. I never use shortening and always sub it with sour cream, I also used a whole can of whole cranberry sauce. I also made one loaf with nuts, the other without. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
EXCELLENT base recipe. Thanks for the start! bananas and cranberries -- what an awesome combination! The result is a kind of "spice bread." I think that the nutmeg is key!! Here's my healthier version. Note: bananas -- Using VERY RIPE ones, and more of them, gives the moisture AND sweetness. Banana Cranberry Bread 2 1/2 c. sugar --> reduce to 3/4 c. sugar 1 c. shortening -- eliminate this entirely 3 eggs 3 mashed bananas --> increase to 10 VERY RIPE (brown) mashed bananas 1 c. cranberry sauce --> substitute 1 bag = 12 oz. whole cranberries instead 1 orange, peeled and mashed -- ADD this 1/2 cup milk 1 t. vanilla extract 4 c. all-purpose flour --> substitute 3 c. self-rising flour 1 1/2 t. baking soda 1 1/2 t. baking powder 1 t. ground cinnamon 1/2 t. ground nutmeg --> increase to 1 t. ground nutmeg 1/2 c. chopped walnuts 2 loaf pans (9x5") --> 3 loaf pans 350 for 50--60 m --> 40 m (less cooking time means more moistness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Absolutely delicious. I was looking for a recipe for moist Cranberry-Orange bread. This was it. The first time I make a new recipe I try to make the original recipe but this time after reading the reviews I used 1 cup of chopped fresh cranberries instead of the sauce and I used the zest of one orange. This recipe made 6 mini loaves. I used a toothpick to make sure it was done. This will go into my Hall of Fame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband (who hates cranberries!), loved this recipe. I used homemade cranberry sauce (recipe on this site, Cranberry Sauce I submitted by Toni) and while the actual cranberry sauce was excellent, I have to agree with other reviewers that there didn't seem to be enough cranberries. Should consider adding some whole cranberries next time. I substituted margarine for the shortening and made them into muffins instead of loaves. Worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This recipe was very good. The only thing I substituted was using 25% less flour and butter instead of shortening. I will surely make this again. This tops the list for cranberry bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I thought this recipe was just okay. I made it into muffins and it worked well, I just didn't find them particularly flavorful. Adding some dried or fresh cranberries might add some needed zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe! I always have mashed ripe bananas in my freezer and often cranberries so it's a dandy. I, too, might add a handful of whole cranberries to my next batch and would perhaps add a few more walnuts. For extra flavour, I toasted the walnuts lightly in a non-stick pan first - no oil, just medium heat and remove before they burn! Lesley, Hamilton, ON, Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I used my leftover candied sweet potatoes instead of banana and WOW. Very moist, very delicious and very happy to use my leftovers in such a creative way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I cut the recipe in half to make just one loaf (but kept the 3 bananas (very ripe) and 1 cup cranberry sauce). I also made some changes to make it healthier. I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and substituted apple sauce for the shortening. It turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States