Banana Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I did make a few changes: 1 cup of sugar only, used nonfat yogurt in place of shortening, used 4 bananas, used 100% white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, used fat free milk. Came out perfectly moist, the kids raved about it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustangmissy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are quite delicious. I didn't have 3 bananas so I I just used 2. still has plenty of banana flavor. I also made them into muffins where the cook time was about 25 minutes. It made 18 muffins. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalena Shea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I used pureed fresh cranberries and 2 c whole wheat flour and 2 c white flour. Cooked it in muffin tins for 40 min. Very sweet and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Okay. Be sure to not use the cranberry gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent. I used 1/2 cup margarine instead of shortening, and the whole can of whole cranberry sauce. I agree with the other reviewers that more berries are needed, and next time I will probably reduce the sugar to 2 cups as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I had a 303 can of cranberry sauce I needed to use and used this recipe with very good results. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (more like bread than cake), 1/2 cup shortening was enough to cream the fat, sugar and eggs with plenty of volume, and I used water instead of milk and stirred into the sauce. The extra 3/4 cup or so of cranberry sauce in the can gave extra needed moisture. I added 1/2 teaspoon salt to help bring out the flavors (probably not necessary if using salted butter as someone suggested). I omitted the vanilla since vanilla tends to mask the banana flavor in banana bread. It was somewhat crumbly when still warm but sliced very nicely when completely cooled, which is typical of using shortening I think. Also, next time I am adding 1 teaspoon of dried orange peel. I always add this to regular banana bread with good results and it is always a good combination with cranberries. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I cut the recipe in half to make just one loaf (but kept the 3 bananas (very ripe) and 1 cup cranberry sauce). I also made some changes to make it healthier. I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and substituted apple sauce for the shortening. It turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
this bread was AMAZING. i replaced the shortening with butter and repaced the milk with cream, also added no walnuts. the batter was almost better than the bread! in my opinion, you could use a little more cranberry sauce but overall, it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I mostly followed the recipe. I had little bits of stuff to use up, so I got a little creative. I didn't have a full cup of cranberry sauce, but I did have an aging mango, so incorporated that into the recipe. Between cranberry sauce and mango, I had about 1 1/2 cups of "liquid", so I left out the milk. I had 1/8 cup of brown sugar hanging around, so I added white sugar to make 2 cups total, and the recipe was still sweet enough. I didn't have any shortening, so I used 1-1/3 sticks of butter and 3/4 c of oil and beat those in with the sugar til it was light and fluffy. I put orange extract to up the "tang" factor after reading other reviews. I baked 1/2 of the batter into a loaf and 1/2 into muffins. Came out great! I would definitely make again and want to try with more cranberry sauce and chopped cranberries. Surely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
yummy, needs more cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States