Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is an ok base recipe. My cooking time was about 9-10 min. And YES these are more of a mini cake not a cookie. It is not crunch or hard at all. I doctored mine up a bit. I used butter instead of shortening as others have suggested. This cake needed some flavor. I used Almond extract instead of lemon, added about 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a sprinkle of ground ginger. They tasted amazing. I also added chopped pecans to half the batter and finished them with powdered sugar. mmmmmm. The next day we even warmed them up again and topped with a vanilla or pumpkin ice cream. Great fall treat. Chocolate chips might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
taste like mini muffins. husband likes them with semi-sweet chocolate chips and cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn0rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
delicious cookies, a bit more bready than most other cookies...but still amazing. I added the walnuts just chopped, and about doubled the amount, they add a nice burst of flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was ok, no one really ate them but me. I think the texture surprised everyone but not in a good way. Thank you very much for the recipe, just not what I was looking for in a banana cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
not the best cookie in the world but by no means the worst... or so i thought when they first came out of the oven.. the taste and the texture got worse by the hour and they were almost inedible the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krisztina
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome cookies! To prevent the batter from being too runny, use heaping cups of flour, not level cups. Since I didn't have walnuts, I decided to use shredded sweetened coconut and also used coconut extract instead of lemon extract. These cookies are soooo soft and delicious - I will definitely be making them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
VERY easy to make. I made for the first time and It was big hit. My husband just loved it. Instead of shortening I used oil. the butter came out very loose, but despite it the cookies were delicious. Great for breakfast with milk, or juice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used Splenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a great little recipe especially for the kids! It's like having banana-nut bread in a cookie. I changed a few measurements and ingredients and found that the recipe worked a bit better. First, I used only 1 teaspoon of baking powder--it was more than enough. Second, I added close to a cup of ground walnuts I processed in the food processor. Finally, instead of shortening, I used butter and just a tab bit more, about a tablespoon more. I pre-mixed the dry ingredients including the nuts. Since the batter was extra moist, I used a spoon and knife to form generous round teaspoonfuls on the cookie sheet. Next time, I'll try adding a bit more lemon extract; 1/2 teaspoon plus. These cookies are great iced, especially with a thin lemon icing, but also equally as good with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar or plain. This recipe is easily altered like most banana breads. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States