Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is amazing! Used a bundt pan and replaced the sour cream with 2% Greek yogurt. Because that's what I had. Perfectly fluffy and substantial at the same time. Bundt pan creates a nut crunchy bottom with the brown sugar topping. Used slivered almonds twice, pecans once and walnut another time. Great, great method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
not enough banana flavor. Next time I will add some banana flavoring to make up for the lack of banana goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wonderful coffee cake! very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a Great coffee cake!I did make my own crumb topping with some leftover white cake crumbs! Yummmm!!! also I added a handful marashino cherrys to the batter! added a tsp of vanilla and used regular flour! Delicious! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Karman Hannon
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good recipe, but more of a bread than a cake and I'd have then streusel in the middle of the cake rather than on top and put a cinnamon drizzle on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karman Hannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wonderful! We use walnuts and about 10 times as much brown sugar and make a lot of topping. It gets more moist every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bearden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
YUM! I doubled this recipe using regular sugar as opposed to superfine sugar. This made a lot more batter than 2-9x9 pans. So instead I got 3 pans worth of coffee cake. Two of the 9x9 size and one smaller round pan. It worked perfectly as I gave away 2 of the pans. I made 2 with the pecans and 1 without for my son. When I spread the pecans on the batter before baking, they were all around the pan, include the edge. As the cake baked, the pecans gravitated toward the center of the pan. It did not effect the taste of the coffeecake, just the appearance, a little bit. This was a nice, moist coffeecake that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe makes a lovely coffee cake. I used the recipe as written except that I used walnuts instead of pecans, since that was what was on hand. It's got a nice banana flavor with a much lighter texture than most banana bread recipes. One note of caution - even using an 8" square pan (again, what I had on hand), it only took about 30 minutes to bake, not 45. Keep an eye on it in your own oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cari
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The house smells wonderful, the cake is moist and oh so yummy! I bring it to church to share and it always gets gobbled up! My daughter and I made muffins out of the mix this go around. The only thing I changed was the amount of time to cook which is 35 min instead of 45 for the cake. They are perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States