Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
The loaf was moist and light. The coconut adds to the texture of the loaf by making it less dense or bread like. It soft and great for a afternoon snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe except for adding cherries which I don't care for. I was a bit apprehensive of the almond extract, but the bread turned out tasty and moist. My loaf was done in under the hour recommended. This was a real treat, highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made a lot of changes to this, only because I really was using it as a basis for getting rid of some stuff in the pantry. I ended up making it a healthier version, cutting down the butter and sugar, exchanging some of the flour for flax, etc So It was great! Really yummy. My changes were: Sugar (1/4 cup brown sugar Splenda blend), Butter (1/4 cup), Banana (4 lg over ripe bananas), Flour (3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup flax meal), Coconut (full cup), walnuts (used full cup of sliced honey roasted almonds instead. Omitted cherries. In other words this recipe is really versatile. I tried to keep the liquid versus dry ratio consistent except I know that I always like more banana than any recipe seems to call for and that worked. ~ now to turn this into cookies or granola bars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! A tad sweet for my taste, so next time I'm gonna try unsweetened coconut and maybe stevia instead of sugar. It is a KEEPER though ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent! One of the worst things you can do is overcook such a nice bread. My oven has issues that need addressing, but my oven temp gauge showed 350 deg, and I actually took it out at 40 min and it was done (and a few min earlier would have been better). I always cut back on sugar, so used 3/4 cup of combined brown and white sugar, and it was the right amount of sweetness for me. Replaced the walnuts with pecans. Used both vanilla and coconut extract, 1/2 tsp each. I loved the coconut taste to the bread with that. For half of the butter, I used applesauce. Very nice and different change from the usual banana bread. I can see adding a handful of chocolate chips, possibly even pineapple to this, maybe for the holidays. Thanks Carol, this loaf is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic and super moist! We loved this. I added 1/4 cup applesauce, some extra coconut extract, diced apricots and chopped fresh strawberries in place of maraschino cherries. So yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was without a doubt the BEST quick bred I've ever had (much less made). Made exactly as directed only I was short on cherries (only had about 1/4 cup) and butter (3oz instead of 4). First impressions were a little iffy as the almond extract flavor was quite strong and I wasn't sure I cared for it ... ten minutes later, I figured I'd better go back and have another piece (grin) before I rated this - and (as I sit here telling myself NOT to go back and get that 3rd piece) I simply had to give it a 5* rating. I do think next time I'll scale back on the almond extract a bit (or use vanilla with chocolate chips instead of cherries), but man I'm telling you this is da bomb. The coconut and banana work SO well together. Can't thank you enough for sharing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Michelle McLachlin
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make some slight modifications for my taste. I cut the sugar in half and used half a cup of sugar instead and found it sweet enough. I used half of butter it calls for and added the missing amount in low fat sour cream to compensate for the moisture. I had no maraschino cherries on him so did not use any additional fruit. Added a dash of nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon and it was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McLachlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is amazing! I'm afraid to go in the kitchen right now, or I'll eat all of it. The only thing I changed was I substituted pineapple for the cherries. It seemed like a much better fit. To me, anyway. Also, it was still a bit raw inside when the hour was up, so I baked it for and hour and 20 minutes total. I'll definitely be making this again. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a moist well balanced bread. I made it just as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States