Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is just delightful! I didn't change a thing, only using pecans instead of walnuts, and I'm so glad I made the recipe as is, ignoring other suggestions and substitutions by other reviewers. This is just delicious, prettily specked with the red cherries and brown nuts and flecked with the coconut. So different from the same ol' banana bread and a nice change. It's moist and flavorful, with a real comfort food quality about it. Set your timer at less than the full hour--my loaf was done at 50 minutes. You can always add more time, but you can't undo it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Mmmmmm.. this is the best banana bread i have ever had!! it is SO moist and flavorful!! i did make some changes though.. subbed half the butter for applesauce, traded the cherries for strawberries (i had no cherries), and used brown sugar for half of the white.. also added a little vanilla =) TWO THUMBS UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
Great bread but the first time I baked it it was a bit dry so I added 1/2 cup of applesauce the next time and that made it perfect. So consider adding extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I used pineapple instead of cherries and added more coconut. I think I might try macadamias instead of walnuts next time. This was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Big hit at our Mother's Day brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Very tasty and kids loved it as well when I added choc. chips and left out the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This was very good. The taste was excellent. It is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Thought it was great. I didn't have cherries so I used strawberries, used vanilla extract, and skipped the walnuts. Yum. Also, I used applesauce instead of the butter and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
GREAT recipe (left out the cherries & walnuts though). Very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
If you love banana and coconut-you'll love this. With every bite- you'll get equal tastes of both. I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar(I think the sugar could be cut back to equal 3/4 cup-coconut sweetens it up plenty), 2 cups banana, vanilla and coconut extract instead of almond, a very heaping 1/2 cup coconut, and milk chocolate chips instead of cherries(didn't have). I baked for like 50 minutes and used two 8 inch loaf pans. YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!! A different recipe worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States