Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I was jazzed to try this today, as I had 3 medium-sized very overripe bananas to use up. Meh. Not much banana or coconut flavor. I'd likely try this again with some tweaking though...perhaps using coconut extract or subbing out dark brown sugar instead of the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delish! I followed recipe almost exactly, only adding a handful of chocolate chips for fun and subsituting vanilla extract, as I didn't have almond. Boy, the smell alone was intoxicating enough to make me forget about the gift recipients this was for...then when I tasted a crumb that got stuck to the pan, I knew I was in danger of having to make another batch! I used mini loaf pans and got 3 out of this recipe. I did not have any problems with dryness/crumbling as some other reviewers did. My boyfriend insists that I make this for us often, now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has become my go-to recipe for banana bread. I have tried a lot of banana breads, but the almond extract really makes this one stand out. I don't add the nuts or cherries, just personal preference. It always goes over well when I take it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and added a cup of fresh mashed papaya. I figured it would be like substituting apple sauce but it was even better. Very moist and nice crunch to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
delicious, but it stuck in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is just brilliant! A star among banana breads; I've never tasted better! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious! Made this as is,aside from not using cherries ( I had none) and pecans instead of walnuts because we prefer them. This was moist and very flavorful. I also made them as muffins instead of a loaf since I was limited on time. Took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Sooo good. Added chocolate chips and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Fantastic! I have been looking for a good Banana Bread & this is it! The coconut & cherries really make this great!! I left out the nuts & added a bit more banana just because I had it ready to go. Will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Yum Yum. Only thing I changed was I used minced pecans and omitted the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States