Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Hot Mana
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is one of our favorites. I have made often in regular loaf and the smaller ones to give as gifts. Couple of things I do that might be helpful: I line the pan with parchment paper. I did have trouble in the beginning removing. Also I find the toothpick checking is not the best; often pick is dry but needs to cook longer. It is usually 50 mins in my oven. I wait until the top is totally brown and the center feels cooked by touch. Usually the top has beautiful cracks. I let melted butter cool off before adding, cut the cherries with scissors, use 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup light brown, pecans. Add the pecans to flour but wait and add cherries when there is just enough left to coat them. No valid reason just seems to be less lumps as you gently stir into the batter. However, I have never been able to prep and mix in less than 1/2 hour so may want to allow more time the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
didn't have cherries or walnuts but substituted 1/2 cup applesauce as recommended. Soooo good moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great alternative to simple banana loaf. I too made this as muffin instead. Added vanilla extract, used brown sugar instead and omitted the cherries and nuts. Very moist. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I like this recipe a lot, but as written it's too sweet. I use half a cup of sugar. I also substitute coconut oil for half of the melted butter, and whole wheat for half of the flour... still lots of calories, but a bit healthier. :-) To make mini muffins instead of a loaf, add 1/4 cup of milk to the egg mixture, and bake in lined muffin tins for 18 minutes. Makes 18 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Nummy! I made a few changes, though. I made muffins, not a loaf, so my cooking time was about 20 mins. I used only 1/3 brown sugar + 1/3 cup table sugar, and they were still very sweet. I also substituted 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds, 1/4 cup of oat bran, & 1/4 cup of wheat germ for 3/4 cup of the flour. And I used egg replacer powder instead of egg and 1/4 cup canola oil + 1/4 cup applesauce instead of butter. And I added chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this for my bible study group & everyone loved it. I left out the cherries (just not a fan of them) and served it warm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Was short on bananas, subbed with plantains, really good stuff!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeit-Bakeit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Changes: added 3.9 oz. cup (single serving) Mott's natural applesauce; used vanilla instead of almond flavoring; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; used sweetened coconut; topped lightly with coconut; no nuts or cherries (husband not a fan); perfect. Family says, best banana bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very, very good!! Made some changes after reading the reviews...1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar; 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. apple sauce; 1 1/2 c. gluten-free flour mix + 1 1/8 tsp. xanthum gum. Use drained, crushed pineapple instead of the cherries. Will be making this often. Thank you for the start of a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Sooooo good! I did not use cherries or nuts, but I did sprinkle some chocolate chips on top of a couple of my mini loaves. Yum! I also used coconut extract and sprinkled extra coconut on top of the loaves. I lightened it up by using a combo of no sugar added applesauce, Greek yogurt, and a tiny bit of canola oil instead of the fat, and used egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States