Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a very good, moist bread. I made mini muffins and they rose perfectly and deflated slightly while they cooled. I don't think the cherries were necessary so I'll leave them out next time. My husband doesn't like banana bread, and he's already eaten two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a lovely banana bread. I like that it has a different flavor than your typical banana bread. Very nice and delicate. I baked mine for the 1 hour and that seemed about right, maybe a little too brown, but at 50 minutes, the center was not done yet. My loaf didn't rise very much, but looking at the other photos, it appears others' didn't either (my baking powder and soda are not expired either). Some adjustment in that area may be required, but other than that, it's a very nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
What a great twist on banana bread! I made as directed, except that I did decrease the total amount of sugar to 3/4 c. (used half white/half brown). Mine needed the full hour to bake, though I did cover the last 10 minutes to prevent the top from getting too brown. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used applesauce instead of oil and baked the loaf as cake in a 9x9 pan. This is a really sweet recipe! I think if I make it again I'll add more pineapple to give it a little more tang to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
yummo! i added choc chips instead of nuts. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very nice bread. A little sweet for me, but I'm a bit of a sugarphobe. It does look very pretty. Oddly enough, my bread took a lot longer than stated--about an hour and 20 minutes. I guess I'm had the opposite problem than other reviewers who felt it could come out more quickly than the recipe stated. It must all be because our ovens are different. Other than decreasing the sugar a tad, I would make this again without major changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Excellent! Followed recipe only exchanging the walnuts for pecans. The cooking time was too long. I put it in for 50 min and it could have come out at about 45 minutes. Coconut is subtle and the cherries gave a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It is so much more flavorful and exciting than regular banana bread. I did make a few small changes. I left out the cherries, used sweetened coconut, subbed pecans bc I didn't have walnuts, and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
SOOOooOo moist and delicious!Didnt add the cherries but other than that followed the recipe exactly. WOuldnt change a thing. Took it over to parents house and they loved it. Will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Love this recipe - Thanks.. I don't add walnuts or cherries but do add saltanas and sometmies chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States