Banana Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This pie was a GIANT hit, everyone loved it I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Followed exactly.it did not state temp or time to cook filling.I used medium heat,whisking to keep from sticking.its been 7 hrs but it has not set up.have to try another recipe.very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This pie was delicious! I used a cooked pastry shell instead and it was perfect. It was quick and easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is really good but is vastly improved with the following: 1. Add 2 tablespoons of dark rum to the custard mix -while cooking. 2. Add 1 chopped/minced banana to the custard mix - after cooking. 3. Make your own graham cracker crust - be sure to add nutmeg to the crushed grahams. 4. Add tablespoon of dark rum to the fresh whipped cream topping. 5. After icing with whipped cream and sprinkling copiously with toasted coconut, rim outside of pie with layer of banana slices on edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I always get compliments when I make this pie. Simple yet something different. The hardest part is not burning the coconut while toasting...opps, there I go again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
LOVED it & recommend a little more clarity on the cooking time for the new bakers. I started w/ toasting 1 cup coconut for 5-7 minutes in oven at 350. When combining ingredients together-turn temp to medium-high heat, and use a whisk. Add egg yolks slowly (whisking the entire time you add them). Then, bring heat down to medium heat and begin whisking constantly for about 5-7 minutes or until thick and bubbly 4.) Gently fold in butter, vanilla and roasted coconut. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Wrap with plastic wrap (Custard sometimes has a top layer of film on it & plastic wrap will easily lift it) Let it cool for at least 3 hrs. Then top w/ whipped cream , 1/2 cup of additional roasted coconut & bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I love the combination of the banana and coconut. It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Delicious! I thought this was a very good recipe. I had never made a banana cream pie before and I thought that it was very easy. I made my own graham pie crust which is definately the way to go. The toasted coconut complimented the banana very nicely, and I LOVE coconut. My only complaint, and the reason why I did not give it five stars is because the condensed milk was not my favorite, so I will probably look for a different sauce base the next time I make it. However, great overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States