Banana Chocolate Chip Softies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These went like mad at my house! I have a house full of picky eaters and everyone loved these. Even my mother who doesn't have a sweet tooth in her head liked them. They were a very soft cake-like cookie so don't expect something with the texture of a regular chocolate chip cookie. I didn't try them with vanilla pudding as other reviews have suggested but I certainly will now. I didn't change anything to the recipe myself though other than to slightly shorten the baking time due to a personal preference of having a gooey cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
really an amazing cookie. everyone ate it all up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
They came out great! The only things I did different was to use half brown sugar half white instead of using the called for all white sugar and change the baking time to 10 mins. My cookies where burned at the bottom at 13 mins. My family ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
these were super tasty!! i was looking for something to do with some bananas that i bought for smoothies, b/c they were getting old, and i found this recipe... instead of dropping them i just made a huge cookie mush on the baking sheet and half way thru tore it up to bake the middle... this is a really good recipe and im going to make these and give them away to say "look what i did" even tho i got the recipe here... sorry to steal ur glory!! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This recipe is great. Why? Because it gets rid of that 1 ripe banana. Most banana bread and muffin recipes calls for 3 ripe ones, so this is perfect when you have just one and don't want to toss it away. Made the recipe exactly as written; no changes. The recipe is just what the title says. They are a nice soft cake-like cookie. Nice for a change of pace too. Giving away to the neighbors for a nice sunday morning treat. They are not overly sweet and would be a good 'breakfast' cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
i make these all of the time. i originally got the recipe from granmas secrets... i use white chocolate chips instead, and i use powdwered sugar instead of white sugar... they are very cake like and taste best warm. i also bake mine on wax paper the original recipe i had said to move the wax paper to the counter (from the pan) and allow them to cool for 2 minutes before removing them from the wax paper onto a wire rack. and i only cook mine 7-9 minutes so they dont dry out. i love them and they are a huge hit!! i am making them in a few minutes for a birthday party this afternoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
my aunt gave me a very similar recipe but she added dried cranberrys and pumkin seeds along with the chocolate chips and banana. sometimes she mixed it up a bit and added white chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate. but it was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used two bananas and semi-sweet chocolate chips, and think these are delicious! Not too sweet, but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My first inclination after trying one of these warm was to give this recipe a 3. But then I tried one once completely cooled and found I liked it better. My girls liked them too but my daughter's boyfriend who usually hovers around the cookie tin said he didn't like the texture. So the majority vote was a 4. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Just loved these. Easy to make and great flavour. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NadineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States