Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except for changing the baking powder to baking soda as so many reviewers suggested. I did not increase the sugar, as others did, and found the sweetness to be perfect. I had 4 small bananas (VERY ripe) to use up and they measured out to 1 1/3 cups, so they all went in. Baked in the pan called for and liked how it turned out, similar in height to a sheet cake. I checked it at 25 min. and was glad I did because it was totally done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I give this recipe 4.5 stars. Like Sara, I also increased the sugar to 1 cup, and used 1 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it in a 9 inch pan lined with parchment for easy removal when it was done. I frosted mine with some leftover butter cream icing made with cream cheese. It made for a nice topping. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debjani Bhattacharya
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This a wonderful recipe. I made some small changes in the recipe by adding three bananas and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. The cake came out to be fluffy with mild flavour. We all enjoyed the cake. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Turned out nice and moist. I followed some other reviewers' advice and used baking soda instead of baking powder. I used 2 bananas. I baked it in an 8x11 dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Do not bake this cake in a 9 x 13 pan as the recipe states. It spreads out too much resulting in a flat, thin pizza-like cake. I used an 8x8 pan. I also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted dried cranberries for the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 01buckler15
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Update, I've made this one a couple of times and the kids absolutely love it every time. If you use over ripe bananas it is plenty sweet, in fact I lowered the sugar in mine the second time….. I used two small bananas and added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, added a tsp of vanilla and used baking soda instead of baking powder. I also subbed half the flour for whole wheat flour and made it into muffins instead of a cake. It turned out light and fluffy making 12 muffins. It is plenty sweet so there is no need to add more sugar or chocolate chips. I did however use over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 01buckler15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aji
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe. I made following changes...added 1 tsp vanilla, used 1 1/2 tsp baking soda (no baking powder), used 2 bananas, used 1 cup sugar, added a bit more chocolate chips, baked in an 8x8 pan for 40 minutes. It's yummy!! Next time I will add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now (with the changes recommended in the reviews), once as a 9-inch round cake and once as cupcakes (12 total). Both times it turned out incredibly delicious, moist and fluffy. Who needs banana bread when you can have banana cake??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Fantastic doubled the recipe and made a double layer version with a vanilla cream cheese icing covered in walnuts... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was SO good and incredibly easy to make! I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States