Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
with anything using bananas you need to mix the baking powder/soda in with the mashed bananas very well, in a separate step mind you, for at least 5 minutes before continuing the process. the chemical reaction between the acid in the bananas and the baking powder gives it the rise and fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Scott Orvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
So good!!! I did double everything in the recipe but it taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this cake today. I baked it in a 9 X 9 pan, and I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, used 3 large bananas. baked for 40 minutes in 350 oven. it's great without icing! it's a dense cake but is sweet and I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Amazing!!! I always substitute baking soda for baking powder- the same amount as the recipe states. Comes out nice and fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made this exactly like the recipe states and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. It was a big hit. I made this in a loaf pan and baked it for 50 minutes. Wow....so good and moist. Great way to use up those ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Loved it. I was afraid that the bananas would gaste too strong so I added a little more chocolate and it worked! I would just add more banking powder so that it grows more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is a good recipe. I read reviews and decided to use vanilla in the batter and I had some white chocolate chips that I used with the semi sweet. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and didn't double it at all but I used an 8 by 8 pan and with using that I got the cake to be thicker rather than thin. Using a 9 by 13 is guaranteed to give you thin cake unless you double. Doubling isn't necessary if you use a smaller pan. The bake time was right on at 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
OMG!! this is a wonderful recipe!!! i enjoy it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I thought this was very good! I followed the advice of the top reviewer and increased the sugar to 1 cup, used baking soda instead of baking powder, added 1 t. vanilla, 1 cup chocolate chips and baked it in an 8x8 loaf pan. It turned out great--except for one thing that was entirely my fault: I used 4 mushy bananas and the middle was a little undercooked after 40 minutes. If I had used less banana it would have cooked solid in the middle. Still, it is excellent and I will make this again and again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except for changing the baking powder to baking soda as so many reviewers suggested. I did not increase the sugar, as others did, and found the sweetness to be perfect. I had 4 small bananas (VERY ripe) to use up and they measured out to 1 1/3 cups, so they all went in. Baked in the pan called for and liked how it turned out, similar in height to a sheet cake. I checked it at 25 min. and was glad I did because it was totally done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States