Banana Chip Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Extremely dry, crusty on top, and the bottoms burned after 5 minutes of baking. Very little flavor even with the addition of vanilla. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yum......All I did different was double the recipe and double the chips....Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 brown sugar in lieu of all white sugar. Also added 2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp vanilla... flavor was outstanding... I am frustrated however.... only put them in for 18 minutes because 25 seems really long... I also questioned 400 degrees, but left it... they all burnt on the bottoms. grrrrr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
i made them with splenda and sugar free cho. chips. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
With a few tweaks, this is a very good muffin. I followed the basic recipe but used brown sugar in place of half the granulated sugar. Also, added a tsp of vanilla and a tsp of cinnamon. I had two large, overripe bananas so probably used more than one cup mashed. The recipe made exactly 12 perfectly sized muffins. Bake time was only 18 minutes for me. Moist, yummy, and sure to be a hit with the kids. As a bonus, the muffins are quick to mix together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very tasty banana muffins - and lower fat too! I didn't have enough banana to make 1 cup, so I added apple sauce to compensate, which obviously made the banana flavor very subtle, but that is no fault of the recipe. Next time I will add the vanilla, though :) Also, the reviewer that said the consistency of the dough is too thick for muffins, is absolutely wrong. Do NOT add more milk! It'll only make your batter too thin to keep the chocolate chips spread throughout :) UPDATE 8/9/2014 - I have used this recipe for a banana upside-down cake, but for this version, omitted the choc. chips and increased the milk to 1/2 cup for a more cakey consistency. Vanilla is still a must, as well as just a dash of cinnamon, to increase the banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These turned out great! I also added a little more milk and 1 tsp of vanilla. I can't get chips where I live, so I hacked up a leftover milk chocolate Easter bunny into small pieces, which worked nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
didn't have enough baking powder so I used half baking soda and a 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. used 3 bananas, used a little more than 1/2 c chocolat, mixed 60% cocoa and milk chips. added the cinnamon and vanilla. and for the extra liquid I used 1/4 c. weak coffee. they turned out light fluffy and delicious. giving 3 stars because to be honest, what I made isn't really this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These are really good! I doubled the milk and chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I think next time I may substitute applesauce for the oil just to lower the calories. FYI WW: 6 point plus for each muffin as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As is, the batter didn't have enough liquid to combine, plus it just didn't have a ton of flavor. I added another 1/4 cup milk and some vanilla and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States