Banana Chip Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
i made them with splenda and sugar free cho. chips. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
With a few tweaks, this is a very good muffin. I followed the basic recipe but used brown sugar in place of half the granulated sugar. Also, added a tsp of vanilla and a tsp of cinnamon. I had two large, overripe bananas so probably used more than one cup mashed. The recipe made exactly 12 perfectly sized muffins. Bake time was only 18 minutes for me. Moist, yummy, and sure to be a hit with the kids. As a bonus, the muffins are quick to mix together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very tasty banana muffins - and lower fat too! I didn't have enough banana to make 1 cup, so I added apple sauce to compensate, which obviously made the banana flavor very subtle, but that is no fault of the recipe. Next time I will add the vanilla, though :) Also, the reviewer that said the consistency of the dough is too thick for muffins, is absolutely wrong. Do NOT add more milk! It'll only make your batter too thin to keep the chocolate chips spread throughout :) UPDATE 8/9/2014 - I have used this recipe for a banana upside-down cake, but for this version, omitted the choc. chips and increased the milk to 1/2 cup for a more cakey consistency. Vanilla is still a must, as well as just a dash of cinnamon, to increase the banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These turned out great! I also added a little more milk and 1 tsp of vanilla. I can't get chips where I live, so I hacked up a leftover milk chocolate Easter bunny into small pieces, which worked nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
didn't have enough baking powder so I used half baking soda and a 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. used 3 bananas, used a little more than 1/2 c chocolat, mixed 60% cocoa and milk chips. added the cinnamon and vanilla. and for the extra liquid I used 1/4 c. weak coffee. they turned out light fluffy and delicious. giving 3 stars because to be honest, what I made isn't really this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These are really good! I doubled the milk and chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I think next time I may substitute applesauce for the oil just to lower the calories. FYI WW: 6 point plus for each muffin as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As is, the batter didn't have enough liquid to combine, plus it just didn't have a ton of flavor. I added another 1/4 cup milk and some vanilla and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Not what i think of when I think of muffins. Taste is fairly good but the texture is more like coffee cake then a muffin. If you make this be sure to have plenty of milk on hand to wash it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
these are very good and ive had no problems with them, but theres not that much banana flavour, so i would suggest adding more bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My daughter is a huge fan of banana muffins, and the addition of the chocolate chips made her an even bigger fan of these muffins. They baked up nicely and were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States