Banana Chip Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by skurrah
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is one I'm definitely saving to use again. My only problem was between the temperature and time, they started to burn around 15 minutes. I would suggest lowering to 350 or 375 and keeping an eye on them. They didn't come out too dry though, despite being slightly burned. I think what may be causing this for other people is how you measure your flour. It's very important to not scoop it out with your measuring cup. This makes it compact, and results in more than you need. Instead, try spooning it into your measuring cup and level it off with the flat side of a knife or spatula. This will give you exactly the amount you need, and you won't need to add in any extra milk or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My "cupcakes" did not look as pretty as the picture for these, and the taste was not exactly what I was hoping for. I do admit I've never quite been a fan of banana and chocolate together, and the actual muffin part is good, it's just not much different than what I'm used to, and the chocolate chips killed it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cadcar13
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great recipe! Tasty, moist muffins! I added a bit more milk, bananas and 1 tsp vanilla, as MrsNesbitt3 suggested, and they were just great. Definitely will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
it was ok, I think that it should have more banana. I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I added the following to mine and they turned out good ... 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Though I had considered playing around with the recipe, I decided to try it as written first. They turned out wonderfully! However, if you are looking for something light and fluffy, I don't recommend this recipe. They are fairly dense, which I love. I added some extra chocolate chips (I don't consider that much of a change. :D) They were super easy to make, and cook quickly. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I added just a tsp of cinnamon and tsp of vanilla - and they're a hit. We put a few extra chips on top for fun, but I thought a 1/2 cup of chips was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goosieist314
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
These were so tasty! I used mini chocolate chips since that's all I had & I have an oven that runs hotter, so I cooked it at 375* for only 16 minutes & they were cooked perfectly & disappeared very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great recipe! Doubled the choclait chips and they were perfect. Brought them to my office and everyone loved them! I will definetly again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We misplaced our favorite recipe and tried this one. Very dry. We will increase the milk, banana, and oil next time. We, too, added vanilla. It was more like a sweetened biscuit than a soft, moist muffin. Very disappointing for a banana muffin -- normally very moist! The temperature is too high as well - should be about 350 F. I'm going with oil and milk up to 1/3 c each and adding another banana. This is not the best recipe -- if you are new to baking, this recipe as written is actually NOT a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States