Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
I am at college and I made this recipe without spending one cent (I got some Chia tea bags for Xmas from a friend) - I am so proud - I never cook! It looks great, but I should have let the tea get stronger - can't really taste it, but I drank a lot of tea while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
I haven't tried baking this bread yet but I wanted to know if you can use the Chai tea that they sell at Costco. Any comments is appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This bread was great but I could not find the type of chai tea that you brew, only the liquid form - but it still turned out great(just used it in the recipe straight out of the carton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I made this for some of my friends at work, and it was a big hit. I raised it to a 1/2 cup of chai (the powdered kind) which made it very moist and lovely. Also, the cream cheese made little cream cheese blobby pockets randomly, which were so delicious! Served with strawberries and coffee, this was really fantastic, so easy and rewarding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Great recipe. After I made it Talia's way I substituted Fat Free Cream Cheese and a Fat Free Egg Substitute. I also halfed the flour with whole wheat. Few people believe me when I tell them the recipe is nearly fat free (about 1.5 grams in the loaf from the bananas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Absolutely delicious. I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts into the mix which turned out great. People definitely get confused when I tell them that there is brewed tea inside (I have to admit, I didn't understand how to do it for a long time, then just decided to pour the water into the mix, filtering out the ground chai).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
GREAT! I'm a big fan of banana bread and chai and this was a great combination. The chai adds a hint of spice and moisture to it. When I made it I was able to get 1 big loaf and a smaller loaf. My modifications: I used Spiced Black Chai tea bags and brewed about 2.5 cups of water with 6 bags for a strong tea. I added a little more sugar for sweetness and cut out some of the salt. If you are not a chai tea lover then this is not for you...just make plain banana bread! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Delicious! This is a wonderfully moist banana bread. I used brewed Chai tea and made it a little stronger, but it still didn't have a distinct Chai taste. However, I didn't expect it to. The Chai just adds a richness to the overall taste as does the cream cheese. If you wanted to taste the spices usually found in Chai you would probably just have to add the individual spices to the bread. I thought about using a Chai mix as one reviewer mentioned, but usually the mixes contain sugar and dried milk which I thought might alter the texture and taste of the recipe. Overall, an easy and delicious bread. Everyone loved it and it didn't last long! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
A great banana bread with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States