Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I really liked the texture and taste of that bread. I used 1/2 c. strong brewed chai tea. Make sure you don't bake it to long otherwise it will come out really dry. Next time I will probably lower the temperatur to 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deena
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Have made this a few times and everyone loves it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, the bread came out very moist and my family enjoyed it but I thought it tasted like bananna bread I don't think the chia made a difference? I think next time I will use more chia and add a spice or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Great recipe. What I did was reduced the baking powder to a teaspoon, added more banana, and upped the chai. I took the advice of some of the other posters and when I added the chai, I warmed my pre-packaged chai and added three chai teabags to strengthen the chai taste. Interesting recipe, but surprizingly wonderful. I recieved many complements on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Yummy! I brewed really strong chai, as suggested and added a pinch of allspice to make the taste a little stronger. Also, instead of creame cheese I used vanilla yogurt, keeping the creamy consistency without as much fat. A great recipe I will continue to use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I added extra banana as i usually do and steeped the chai tea bag for an extra long time. I could not detect the chai as i hoped i would. I also did not feel that this bread was any different than my basic banana bread recipe and it contained much more fat due to the cream cheese. I was a nice bread, but the chai did not translate in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I used regular cream cheese instead of low-fat and added an extra 1/4 cup of it. I didn't have any chai tea so I just used some fair trade lemon honey tea and this bread turned out sooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
this is AMAZING! I can't wait to have it for breakfast with a nice chai steamer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This wasn't chai-y enough for me even though I followed other advice and made the chai REALLY strong. Also (this is the reason for the low rating) my bread came out with a weird, rubbery texture...it was bizarre. I wonder if a whole tablespoon of baking powder is the reason? Thanks for an original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe was delicious!! After reading the reviews I did brew my chai very strong. I used the 'Pacific Chai' Spice Chai Latte powdered brand. I used one packet in 4 oz of water, but still only used 1/4 of a cup. I also added 2 bananas which were very brown, and full of flavor. To top it off I sprinkled about a teaspon of General Foods brand Chai Latte over the top before I baked it. (I used the GF brand because it is sweeter and I thought it would taste very nice.) This made all the difference! It had a very crisp sweet crust. It made the bread taste a lot more like chai. The inside was very moist. I will definately make this again, and again. This has become my new banana bread recipe!!! Thanks so much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States