Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe was delicious!! After reading the reviews I did brew my chai very strong. I used the 'Pacific Chai' Spice Chai Latte powdered brand. I used one packet in 4 oz of water, but still only used 1/4 of a cup. I also added 2 bananas which were very brown, and full of flavor. To top it off I sprinkled about a teaspon of General Foods brand Chai Latte over the top before I baked it. (I used the GF brand because it is sweeter and I thought it would taste very nice.) This made all the difference! It had a very crisp sweet crust. It made the bread taste a lot more like chai. The inside was very moist. I will definately make this again, and again. This has become my new banana bread recipe!!! Thanks so much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I even brewed Stash Chai with milk but it wasn't a strong flavour at all in the bread. Otherwise, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
My only suggestion is to lower the temprature to 300-325 an bake it longer. Also everytime that the oven is opened the temprature dorps 25 degrees. Have patience, and willpower it will turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Pretty good for a low-fat banana bread, but fairly bland. I could not taste the flavor of the spices from the chai at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
While this bread had a really good creamy texture, it didn't have much in the way of flavor. It could have been because I didn't have any actual chai tea to use, so I added about 2 tablespoons of dry chai mix. It tastes good, but there's just not a lot of flavor there. If I make it again I think I'd try to find some good black tea chai and brew it really strong, and use older browner bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Very moist and tasty for a lowfat bread! I agree with everyone else, you have to brew the tea really strong or you can't taste the spices at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
added some raisins and nuts, my 8 year old son asked me to make it again before it was even gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is a pretty good banana bread. It wasn't as moist as I had hoped, even though I added extra banana (used two). For those of you wondering about the chai, I had a dry package of Oregon Chai. I added 1/4 C boiling water and let it cool a bit before adding it. I also squished the cream cheese/egg mixture in a ziploc bag and added it from that to the dry ingredients...one less bowl and I think it mixed the cream cheese better than I could by hand. Thanks for a pretty good recipe...I'll probably make it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
A great banana bread with a bit of a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
this was pretty good, but i made some changes. i used regular cream cheese, not low-fat, because it's what i had on hand leftover from another recipe. i used green chai tea. i squeezed most of the liquid i used directly from the tea bags, and i scooped a little loose tea out of the wet tea bags to add more flavor. i also added macadamia nuts. make sure you mix the the sugar & cream cheese first, then add eggs one at a time... if not you'll end up with lumps of cream cheese in sweetened eggs! i think that next time i will add more banannas, because i like my bananna bread really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States