Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jai
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
loved it! What a fantastic and fantastically easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I found that the tin foil loaf pans had to have half the recipe in each pan. I ended up doubling the recipe and making 3 loaf pan (store didn't have any true loaf pans). I also used liquid chai tea, but opened 2 tea packets and put the spices right into the mixture. Not too shabby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenKlutz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I LOVED this bread. It was easy to make, had a fantastic chewy texture with a nice crisp top crust, and had a beautiful pound cake look to the slices. The chai perfectly and lightly spiced the bread and paired well with the slight cream cheese flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I followed the instructions to a "t" (aside from adding a little more chai, per suggestions) and this wasn't good. You can barely taste the banana if you only use 3/4 cup, so I'd use more if I made this again. Like EVERYONE ELSE said, you cannot taste the chai. Period. I added 1/2 cup of that and there isn't even a hint of chai in this bread. It's very dense and heavy with little white spots of cream cheese, which really just made it heavier. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
delicious and so gorgeous! I brewed the chai super strong and the flavor was still weak, but what I did taste was an interesting and welcome departure from the normal banana bread flavaflavs. I'm going to give the chai a double overtime steeping sesh next time I bake this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liltagg
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great recipe. Didn't have all the right ingredients. Only 1 egg, double cream cheese, and used earl gray tea instead. Also baked in as cupcake size - 30 mins. Very soft and moist inside, crisp outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tng214

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Good texture, needs spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This bread has a nice sweet flavor to it but there is something missing, perhaps cinnamon and a orange glaze on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I used this site to increase the servings to 16 because I had 2/3 cup (5 oz) of cream cheese to use up. I used 3 eggs, and made 18 muffins, which took 25 minutes to bake at 350F. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great starter recipe, the following changes will make it 5 stars: Use 1/3 cup of super-brewed Chai tea to get a strong flavor (soak 3 packets of Chai in 1/3 cup of just-boiled water for 20 min). For even MORE flavor, you can try adding a teaspoon of the dry chai mix from the tea packet. Use 3 medium bananas, a little over a cup mashed. Reduce the cooking temp to 300-325 F depending on your oven, cook for about 45-55 min. These changes will make a delicious, MOIST bread - and believe me, you WILL taste the chai flavor with the super-brewed tea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States