Banana Caramel Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
excellent.....top with toasted almonds, adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have been making this dessert for years and my family loves it! The absolute easiest way to turn the condensed milk into caramel is to submerse the unopened cans completely in water in the crock pot overnight on low with the lid of the crock pot on. You never have to worry about making sure that the can is always covered. I make an oreo cookie crust, put my bananas between the caramel and whipped cream and whip up some whipping cream instead of the frozen whipped topping. As long as the bananas are completely covered with the whipped cream, you can make this ahead of time. I often double the recipe and make it in a 9x13 dish. My children request this for their birthdays instead of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This pie is great! Other reviewers suggested cooking the milk longer, so I put water almost to the top of the can and put a lid on. probobly not a great idea. I think I overcooked it because it wouldn't "pour", it just fell out in a big glob and I spread it over the bananas. Next time I will do it as the recipe suggests, but turn the can over half way through. The flavor is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I absolutely love this pie! A friend made it for a party we were having and I've been hooked every since. This pie reminds me of banana pudding without all the hassle. Thanks for submitting this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferriday, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Thank you all for your input for this recipe. I just wanted to let you all know that when I submitted this one, It said to mix in the banana's to the carmel after you slice them on. This will help to prevent the browning while it is in the fridge cooling. Sorry for the mix up. Also, you need to keep adding water to the pot as it is boiling to keep it covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
A wonderfully sweet pie!!! I've made this many times and have found the easiest way to make the caramel is to peel the label off the cans of sweetened condensed milk - Do Not Open the can - drop the cans into a pot of boiling water (enough to cover the cans plus an inch or so) and boil for 3 hrs. Let the cans cool, open the can and you have the best caramel without the mess of the baking dish and water bath! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I've been making this for years and I always put the bananas under the caramelized condensed milk. (they do not turn brown!!!!!) It's great! A great tip is to boil 4 cans at a time and save them in the cupboard for next time. When unexpected guests arrive just put it together in less that 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jexy101
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
i had this at my grandmas house and in 30 mins it was gone it was AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jexy101
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was a wonderful pie! My kids and husband love it! It was very easy to make and the tip about mixing the bananas into the caramel made all the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was a SUPER easy recipe! I love it. Can't believe how easy it was and how delicious the end result was. This will definitely become a family favorite around our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States