Banana Caramel Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I've been making this for years and I always put the bananas under the caramelized condensed milk. (they do not turn brown!!!!!) It's great! A great tip is to boil 4 cans at a time and save them in the cupboard for next time. When unexpected guests arrive just put it together in less that 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
A wonderfully sweet pie!!! I've made this many times and have found the easiest way to make the caramel is to peel the label off the cans of sweetened condensed milk - Do Not Open the can - drop the cans into a pot of boiling water (enough to cover the cans plus an inch or so) and boil for 3 hrs. Let the cans cool, open the can and you have the best caramel without the mess of the baking dish and water bath! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Paula Deen suggested that you use two cans of the sweetened condensed milk and to pour it into a baking dish thats submersed in water and bake then using half to layer bananas and caramel then topping with whipped topping... I have not tried it but it seems like it might turn into caramel a little easier.. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have been making this dessert for years and my family loves it! The absolute easiest way to turn the condensed milk into caramel is to submerse the unopened cans completely in water in the crock pot overnight on low with the lid of the crock pot on. You never have to worry about making sure that the can is always covered. I make an oreo cookie crust, put my bananas between the caramel and whipped cream and whip up some whipping cream instead of the frozen whipped topping. As long as the bananas are completely covered with the whipped cream, you can make this ahead of time. I often double the recipe and make it in a 9x13 dish. My children request this for their birthdays instead of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Thank you all for your input for this recipe. I just wanted to let you all know that when I submitted this one, It said to mix in the banana's to the carmel after you slice them on. This will help to prevent the browning while it is in the fridge cooling. Sorry for the mix up. Also, you need to keep adding water to the pot as it is boiling to keep it covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I put dark bakers chocolate right in the crust... made my own crust. I didn't shake or beat the caramalized topping out of the can for my first pie and it was a little runny. my second pie i beat it up and put it on it set alot better. Maybe if you turn the can halfway through cooking you wont get a super caramalized part at one ened and custard texture at the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the directions (first time cooking sweetened condensed milk) and only half the can was carmel. I later googled cooking sweetened condensed milk and learned the can should be submerged in water, not only just 2 inches of water as this recipe states. Might want to check into that if this is your first time. 2 stars for poor directions, otherwise great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Good, needs a chocolate crust and sauce to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This pie is great! Other reviewers suggested cooking the milk longer, so I put water almost to the top of the can and put a lid on. probobly not a great idea. I think I overcooked it because it wouldn't "pour", it just fell out in a big glob and I spread it over the bananas. Next time I will do it as the recipe suggests, but turn the can over half way through. The flavor is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Delicious! Easy! Wow! I was intrigued by this idea and had to try it, but afraid of an explosion, so I used the crock pot method. It really does turn into caramel and makes a GREAT pie. I bake alot and love when you find those rare recipes that are so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States