Banana Caramel Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Bananas turn brown before you can add the whipped cream. It was just not what we expected for taste or texture. Dissapointed because it sounded wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I've been making this for years and I always put the bananas under the caramelized condensed milk. (they do not turn brown!!!!!) It's great! A great tip is to boil 4 cans at a time and save them in the cupboard for next time. When unexpected guests arrive just put it together in less that 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This pie is great! Other reviewers suggested cooking the milk longer, so I put water almost to the top of the can and put a lid on. probobly not a great idea. I think I overcooked it because it wouldn't "pour", it just fell out in a big glob and I spread it over the bananas. Next time I will do it as the recipe suggests, but turn the can over half way through. The flavor is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
excellent.....top with toasted almonds, adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Good, needs a chocolate crust and sauce to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This cake is way too sweet and rich. I got sick off the first piece. The ingredients sounded good, but not worth the effort. I threw the rest of the pie away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Thank you all for your input for this recipe. I just wanted to let you all know that when I submitted this one, It said to mix in the banana's to the carmel after you slice them on. This will help to prevent the browning while it is in the fridge cooling. Sorry for the mix up. Also, you need to keep adding water to the pot as it is boiling to keep it covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I absolutely love this pie! A friend made it for a party we were having and I've been hooked every since. This pie reminds me of banana pudding without all the hassle. Thanks for submitting this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferriday, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was a wonderful pie! My kids and husband love it! It was very easy to make and the tip about mixing the bananas into the caramel made all the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
very rich and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States