Banana Caramel Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have been making this dessert for years and my family loves it! The absolute easiest way to turn the condensed milk into caramel is to submerse the unopened cans completely in water in the crock pot overnight on low with the lid of the crock pot on. You never have to worry about making sure that the can is always covered. I make an oreo cookie crust, put my bananas between the caramel and whipped cream and whip up some whipping cream instead of the frozen whipped topping. As long as the bananas are completely covered with the whipped cream, you can make this ahead of time. I often double the recipe and make it in a 9x13 dish. My children request this for their birthdays instead of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was a SUPER easy recipe! I love it. Can't believe how easy it was and how delicious the end result was. This will definitely become a family favorite around our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This can be too sweet for some. For that reason i use a sponge base rather than biscuit then layer with bananas then toffee then another sponge then bananas then toffee then top with the cream and then chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I put dark bakers chocolate right in the crust... made my own crust. I didn't shake or beat the caramalized topping out of the can for my first pie and it was a little runny. my second pie i beat it up and put it on it set alot better. Maybe if you turn the can halfway through cooking you wont get a super caramalized part at one ened and custard texture at the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I just tried this pie today and it's still in the fridge. I don't think mine is going to get firm even being cold. But I think it is going to taste delicious. I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
A wonderfully sweet pie!!! I've made this many times and have found the easiest way to make the caramel is to peel the label off the cans of sweetened condensed milk - Do Not Open the can - drop the cans into a pot of boiling water (enough to cover the cans plus an inch or so) and boil for 3 hrs. Let the cans cool, open the can and you have the best caramel without the mess of the baking dish and water bath! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Paula Deen suggested that you use two cans of the sweetened condensed milk and to pour it into a baking dish thats submersed in water and bake then using half to layer bananas and caramel then topping with whipped topping... I have not tried it but it seems like it might turn into caramel a little easier.. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
great recipe! would make this again really soon! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
My family and I loved this pie! Good idea about putting the bananas in first, though we didn't care that they turned brown--it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
very rich and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States