Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I tried to make this cake twice now and both times it collapsed. It has a really good flavor and texture though. I was planning on frosting it but didn't so we ended up just eating it plain. I thought it fell because maybe I used a cake mix with pudding in it, so the second time I used one without and it still collapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this banana cake and thought that it was very similar to banana bread. I made cupcakes with it and added miniature chocolate chips to some of the cupcakes. You don't really need frosting with this cake. It's plenty sweet and flavorful enough by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
didn't really like it, it taste alot like banana nut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My husband really liked this recipe. I used the Banana Butter Icing, added walnuts to the cake mixture (used yellow cake mix), and made it in a bundt pan. It turned out very pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Delicious, moist, flavorful banana cake. I use a cream cheese and pecan frosting. Everyone at work, home and potlucks loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Great recipe - good banana flavor and very moist (almost too moist for me, but people at work raved about the cake.) I used a yellow cake mix and drizzled it with a mix of lemon juice and powdered sugar. People loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I have never made a banana cake with a cake mix. I made it in a bundt pan and topped it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze. People at the dinner party loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Nice and fluffy. I used buttermilk instead of the milk/lemon juice and a yellow cake mix because it was what I had on hand. I also used 3 bananas. I made a caramel icing but think it would be better with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
We made this cake for a family get together this weekend and it was so good! We used three bananas instead of two and added pecans to the batter. We cooked it in a bundt pan, increasing the baking time by about 10 minutes. When it was cooled, I drizzled it with Fat Free Caramel Ice Cream topping and chopped up pecans. I had three people ask for the recipe that night. We already went to the store and bought more bananas to start rippening so we can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glenda
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was Great hit at my house, My 9yr old grand daughter helped make it and loved smashing the bananas, I did ude 3 by the way, The rest was great as is, I used a 10 inch bundt pan. So I cooked it at 325 degrees for 50 minutes. I used a vanilla frosting because that is what I had on hand and it was fantastic! My husband loved it and wants me to make him another one right away.Glenda :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coarsegold, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States