Banana Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I have never made a banana cake with a cake mix. I made it in a bundt pan and topped it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze. People at the dinner party loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Nice and fluffy. I used buttermilk instead of the milk/lemon juice and a yellow cake mix because it was what I had on hand. I also used 3 bananas. I made a caramel icing but think it would be better with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
We made this cake for a family get together this weekend and it was so good! We used three bananas instead of two and added pecans to the batter. We cooked it in a bundt pan, increasing the baking time by about 10 minutes. When it was cooled, I drizzled it with Fat Free Caramel Ice Cream topping and chopped up pecans. I had three people ask for the recipe that night. We already went to the store and bought more bananas to start rippening so we can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glenda
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was Great hit at my house, My 9yr old grand daughter helped make it and loved smashing the bananas, I did ude 3 by the way, The rest was great as is, I used a 10 inch bundt pan. So I cooked it at 325 degrees for 50 minutes. I used a vanilla frosting because that is what I had on hand and it was fantastic! My husband loved it and wants me to make him another one right away.Glenda :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coarsegold, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I thought this was okay, but nothing special. I read other reviews and decided to use 2/3 c. sour cream instead of milk and lemon juice. I used 2 large bananas and baked in 2-9" layer pans. I didn't think it had a strong enough banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great cake! I used a yellow cake mix and baked in a bundt pan for about 44 minutes. I used the peanut butter glaze on this site to frost. Great combination - peanut butter and banana! Family loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
The only change I made was to use Pillsbury Banana cake mix. This was INCREDIBLE! I baked it in a bundt, and it came out beautiful, moist, excellent. My food critic husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Every year I host Christmas Eve for my husband's family, and every year I get at least one request for this cake. I make this in 8" round pans and ice with a homemade cream cheese frosting. It's definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Deeeeelicious! What a treat with Caramel Frosting IV from this site. So easy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Delicious, moist and amazing! The right amount of everything! I love that you can use cake mix to speed things up. I used a yellow cake mix that I had on hand. It would be good with a spice cake mix. I used the banana butter icing recipe from this website and it was a hit at our family reunion! I made this a week ago and I'm already craving it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States