Banana Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this for my son's birthday cake as is, and it was delicious. Used a half recipe for the icing and it was plenty. A good success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
April 28, 2015 Thank You, Cindy. Thank your friend for me. I tried many recipes for Banana Cake and this has been the best. I set my oven to 300 degrees even though you stated 275 since my oven runs cold. Baked my cake 1Hr 25Mins. I was afraid the glass pan would crack. So I waited 20 Mins before I put the cake into the freezer. The cake was very moist and delicious! Simply the best!!! Taffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I love this recipe, but I have no idea how I missed the lower baking temp. The only excuse I can think is after mixing, I probably stopped reading and baked as usual. This is the first time baking as directed. I think it will be OK, but it is also the first time I've used powdered buttermilk. It doesn't look the same. Hope it tastes as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Prepared gluten free and modified for high altitude. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is one of the most amazing cakes I have made! It is super moist, light and fluffy! I followed the cake recipe with no changes. However, I did omit the cream cheese frosting; found the cake to be sweet enough without it. I did dust the top of the cake with confectioners' sugar, more for presentation. This is a recipe I will make for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I left out the lemon juice and used store bought cream cheese frosting. Holy cow! Best. Cake. Everrrr. Followed everything else to a T. Yes I am pretty sure it's the best cake I've ever made. Not that I am the Cake Queen or anything, but I've made my fair share in nearly fifty years on the planet. Bf can't keep his hands off it. Don't know how anyone is ending up with something that resembles Banana Bread? Looks and tastes nothing like it. This little lovely is so lite and fluffy and CAKE like, there is no chance of mistaking it for banana bread which is dark and heavy and dense. I did have to bake it for about 15 extra minutes. So worth very minute!!! Yummmm Oh and I used four medium ripe bananas. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
made as stated in recipe, excellent recipe. didn't cool in freezer didn't think it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I was concerned about compromising the food in my freezer by sticking something so hot inside, but since I have a small empty freezer in garage, I did follow this step. Only change was evaporated milk with 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk (may be why dense, but I like cake that way.) Received many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Just made this cake and followed the directions (though I was leary)! FANTASTIC! i can't believe that I'll be replacing my mothers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I gotta take back some of the stuff I said before... after being in the refrigerator for the whole night and using lots of cake cream on it, it became better...still not my favorite cake,however I do not loathe it like last night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States