Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was not super impressed with this recipe, which was really disappointing given all the rave reviews! I wonder if my bananas may have been too overripe though - the reason we didn't love this is it was just too sweet. And it didn't turn out as dense as we would have liked either. Maybe I'll try it again with bananas that aren't black yet and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This cake is awesome - unbelievably moist, light and full of banana flavor. I used 3 over ripe bananas and all purpose flour instead of cake (didn't have it). While the cake didn't rise as much as I would've liked, the flavor and consistency is excellent. Now I just need to find a good icing recipe (more like a drizzle) that I can use with this cake, and it'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was delicious and moist! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty and easy small cake. I do use cake flour and I cut the sugar to 1 cup (I do that for a lot of recipes because I don't like things too sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ive made it 4 times within the past week, taking it to a social gathering once. They wanted seconds! This bread without milk is amazing... so moist and holds up well after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
The best banana cake I have ever made! And, it was so easy. I upped the servings to 18 so that it would work well in a 9x13in pan and topped it with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this today, and as others suggested, used 3 bananas (1 1/2 cups)...delicious!! Moist, and very banana..eey!! I didn't have cake flour, so I used White Lilly a.p. flour, baked in a bundt pan, and topped with a frosting made with a little butter, confectioners sugar, and mashed banana. Will definitely make again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this recipe into muffins and topped them with a cream cheese icing, they were delicious. My 3 year old just loved them. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very yummy recipe. I did not change anything about the recipe but when cooking it I bake it in a 9X13 dish and only cooked it for about 20-25 mins. I actually made it twice in a week and both times it was gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Made this for a special treat for my husband ( I hate bananas). He said it was great, very moist and delicious. Very easy and quick to make (I liked that part!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States