Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
YUM!!! This is awesome! UNBELEIVABLY moist an tender!!! Not your average banana bread! I cannot express how perfectly this turned out. I added 1/2 cup banana (to use up what I had) which required me to bake it an extra 10-20 minutes (in a loaf pan b/c I just moved and couldn't find my bundt pan). Thank you! Perfect for company or a gift basket. I made a yellow icing and drizzled zig zags. Beautiful. For icing: 1 cup powdered sugar Milk (add until desired consistency is reached) 2 drops yellow food coloring 1/2 Tsp banana extract (or to taste). Can even make little banana designs if you make a small bit of the icing green! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great recipe! I added walnuts and chocolate chips and made cupcakes out of it. Baked for 15-20 minutes. Great for a snack on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good tasting ... will make again. Frosted with cream cheese frosting and I think if I didn't, it wouln't have been that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lovely! Mine turned out a smidgen flat, so I simply cut it in half, sandwiched it with passionfruit icing, then iced the top. gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very nice, light banana cake! I gave it a 4 because it could stand to have more banana, as reviewers have stated. I did it at 18 servings and baked as layers. I sprinkled some chocolate chips on mine--they sunk to the bottom, of course, and left my hubby's without because chocolate triggers migraines for him. I'll try it again with more banana, to see if I like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I had left over chocolate frosting to use. This does make a very good snack cake -- the kind you can pick up with your fingers because it is not airy, it is moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was not super impressed with this recipe, which was really disappointing given all the rave reviews! I wonder if my bananas may have been too overripe though - the reason we didn't love this is it was just too sweet. And it didn't turn out as dense as we would have liked either. Maybe I'll try it again with bananas that aren't black yet and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This cake is awesome - unbelievably moist, light and full of banana flavor. I used 3 over ripe bananas and all purpose flour instead of cake (didn't have it). While the cake didn't rise as much as I would've liked, the flavor and consistency is excellent. Now I just need to find a good icing recipe (more like a drizzle) that I can use with this cake, and it'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was delicious and moist! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty and easy small cake. I do use cake flour and I cut the sugar to 1 cup (I do that for a lot of recipes because I don't like things too sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States