Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe! If you've ever tried one of the banana cakes sold in the tropical countries, then this thing is as close as it gets!! I have gathered quite a few banana cake recipes over the years, but this one is head and shoulders above the rest! Used 3 medium bananas. Substituted cake flour for all-purpose 1:1. Didn't have butter on hand, so used 8Tbls of corn oil. Added 1 cup(~100g) of chopped walnuts, everything else is exactly as listed in the recipe. Don't reduce sugar, it's really at it's best with 1 1/4 cups! Baked in the 8.5 x 4.5inch pound cake rectangle at 340F for 1hour. Results are above all expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is a real winner. I followed the recipe exactly as written. This little cake turned out beautifully. I added some buttercream frosting and served it for a family dinner dessert. It was a hit. Highly recommended if you like banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a very moist cake. I did use 2 cups mashed bananas, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg; so because of all the changes is why I only give it 4 stars. Over all it is a pretty good cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was outstanding! I took it to Bible study and all the ladies wanted the recipe! I cut the sugar down to 1 cup as others recommended and added the vanilla with the bananas. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I topped it with whipped cream . It was fairly simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
YUM, YUM, YUM!! The best!! A hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWEL_ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a fast, easy, inexpensive, and delicious recipe. Sometimes I double the recipe and layer with cream cheese icing. It makes it very sweet, like an Italian creme. Best idea is to sprinkle with a bit of powdered sugar and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was very moist and flavoursome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Amazing! Other than substituting yogurt for the sour cream, I used the recipe as written, and it turned out delicious! Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great cake. Instead of sour cream, I added same amount of milk. That could be why my cake took at least 15 more mins to back. The outside was crusty and brown while the instead was still soft. Overall however, it's a great cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I just made a double batch - getting rid of some pretty mushy bananas. It really is a good cake recipe. Almost like a loaf recipe more than a cake and really simple to make. I used regular All purpose flour and just reduced the amount of it by 6 tablespoons (3 per batch) instead of the cake flour. I had to cook it an extra 10 minutes maybe. It came out a dark brown with a crispy/harder top - which I love. The double mix made 2 x 8 inch round cakes plus 2 x small loaves. I will make this one again - if I remember where to find the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States