Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I didn't have sour cream so I used a little milk. I put it into a 9x13 pan and sprinkled chopped walnuts on top. Yum. Not too sweet and more like a snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
LOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVED IT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This cake turned out great. Soft and moist, not the least bit dry. A great afternoon tea for the family. For a little crunch add chopped pecans or walnuts to the batter, mmmm delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe! If you've ever tried one of the banana cakes sold in the tropical countries, then this thing is as close as it gets!! I have gathered quite a few banana cake recipes over the years, but this one is head and shoulders above the rest! Used 3 medium bananas. Substituted cake flour for all-purpose 1:1. Didn't have butter on hand, so used 8Tbls of corn oil. Added 1 cup(~100g) of chopped walnuts, everything else is exactly as listed in the recipe. Don't reduce sugar, it's really at it's best with 1 1/4 cups! Baked in the 8.5 x 4.5inch pound cake rectangle at 340F for 1hour. Results are above all expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is a real winner. I followed the recipe exactly as written. This little cake turned out beautifully. I added some buttercream frosting and served it for a family dinner dessert. It was a hit. Highly recommended if you like banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a very moist cake. I did use 2 cups mashed bananas, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg; so because of all the changes is why I only give it 4 stars. Over all it is a pretty good cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was outstanding! I took it to Bible study and all the ladies wanted the recipe! I cut the sugar down to 1 cup as others recommended and added the vanilla with the bananas. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I topped it with whipped cream . It was fairly simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
YUM, YUM, YUM!! The best!! A hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWEL_ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a fast, easy, inexpensive, and delicious recipe. Sometimes I double the recipe and layer with cream cheese icing. It makes it very sweet, like an Italian creme. Best idea is to sprinkle with a bit of powdered sugar and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was very moist and flavoursome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States