Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Made this for a banana lover and he has asked for it several times since. I frost it with a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Fabulous recipe however I did modify it slightly and it had people raving. I accidentally miscalculated how much banana I had and was short by 100g so I added 100g of mashed persimmon. Just before I put it in the oven I dropped some choc melts around the top of the batter which sank to the bottom as it cooked!! Turned out gorgeous - dense yet moist with choc chunks at the bottom!! Finished it off with a real chocolate butter cream. Was cleaned up at the office!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Brooke
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
very good and very moist cake. i didn't measure the bananas exactly since i just mashed 3 and put them in. i think it was a little more than the recipe calls for. other than that i followed the recipe word for word. my husband said it's the best banana cake/bread i've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Absolutely the best! So moist and very flavorful. I used brown sugar & white sugar. I also used a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I was not overly thrilled with this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong because it took forever to bake in my oven and the outside turned out hard while the inside was too moist. The flavor was ok but not especially sweet or banana-ish for a cake. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
The recipe is good, but here are some alterations i made to make it better. Instead of all white sugar i did 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup white sugar. I added 4 whole bananas to give it extra banana flavor. Also I added chocolate chips to the cake after I put it in the pan already. Whenever I bring this cake to work it gets gobbled up so quickly, no one has a chance for 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I used all-purpose flour and yogurt instead of sour cream and a little less sugar. I also added chocolate chips and cream cheese icing. It really had great banana flavor, but wasn't really a cake. It was just like banana bread, probably because of my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
WoW!!! I'm always trying out new "Banana Cake" recipes...this one by far is most amazing!!!! I wasn't "shy" with the mashed banana and topped off cake with Duncan Hines Homestyle Buttercream icing....well, let's just say I blew my diet due to multiple pieces I ate! lol! Worth the try and you wont' be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Nice and moist, although it wasn't as sweet as I would expect a cake to be. My son insisted that it was bread and not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We liked this recipe. I'm sure it would have been good as is, but I made some changes. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13 x 9 pan, no time or temp adjustments needed. I used 4 mashed bananas and it worked fine. I also threw in a cup of chopped walnuts, and a handful of chocolate chips and a handful of toasted coconut. I am quite sure I will be making this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States