Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I made this for my husband last night and he loved it!!.. I didnt have cake flour so used all purpose..I made it in a bundt pan and then piped "Cream Cheese Frosting II" all over the top.. I then sprinkled some finely chopped walnuts to finish it off.. My husband likes cold cake so I put it in the fridge and he absolutely loved it!.. Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This cake is WOW!!!! I am so picky about cakes regarding whether they are moist and flavorful. This cake/recipe is really superb. I am so glad I went with this recipe of the many banana cake recipes on this site. The reason I did was that I did not want to buy a whole container of buttermilk that the other more highly rated recipe had. This banana cake called for sour cream and cake flour and I had both at home. I do find that cakes that call for cake flour are more tender and moist and this one holds true. Like other reviewers suggested...I used 3 bananas which measured 1½ cups of mashed banana. I followed the recipe exactly. This is the most delicious cake I have made in a long, long time. My six year old son asked if he can have this cake for his birthday cake next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
One word - ohmigosh!! I love bananas and this is the best recipe I have tried for Banana Cake (I have tried several on this site). It is moist, fluffy, easy and deee-li-cious!! What's more, it is the perfect size - 9 in. square pan - for a small family or a small get-together. You don't have to worry about eating leftovers for the entire week , although this is sooo good, you WOULD want to eat this cake for an entire week. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Absolutely wonderful! Instead of using 1 cups of banana, I used 5 bananas and the cake turned out with that 'banana-y omph' I didnt have cake flour, so i used bread flour and take away about 3.5 tablespoon away. Also, i used brown sugar cos we didnt have much white sugar left Overall, this recipe is great! Moist and full of flavour. I suggest u use more than 1 cup of bananas though.. I love mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ch1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great cake. Instead of sour cream, I added same amount of milk. That could be why my cake took at least 15 more mins to back. The outside was crusty and brown while the instead was still soft. Overall however, it's a great cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Excellent! Baked this in an 8x11 pan, and frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II (on this site). I used 3 blackening bananas which came to about 1 1/2 cups, but I forgot the vanilla extract. Used all-purpose flour, and it worked just fine. The cake is fantastic, very moist and superb banana flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Amazing! Other than substituting yogurt for the sour cream, I used the recipe as written, and it turned out delicious! Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe! If you've ever tried one of the banana cakes sold in the tropical countries, then this thing is as close as it gets!! I have gathered quite a few banana cake recipes over the years, but this one is head and shoulders above the rest! Used 3 medium bananas. Substituted cake flour for all-purpose 1:1. Didn't have butter on hand, so used 8Tbls of corn oil. Added 1 cup(~100g) of chopped walnuts, everything else is exactly as listed in the recipe. Don't reduce sugar, it's really at it's best with 1 1/4 cups! Baked in the 8.5 x 4.5inch pound cake rectangle at 340F for 1hour. Results are above all expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I was wavering between this and the Banana Cake VI, and I'm really glad I picked this one! Used all-purpose flour and scaled the recipe to 18 servings for a two-layer cake, added chocolate chips to the batter, then iced with cream cheese icing. I love banana everything and this far exceeded even my high hopes! I couldn't get enough of it. Two layers in 9" round pans baked for about 25 minutes, so watch it if you alter it some. Absolutely wonderful and I can't wait to have an excuse to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This cake is excellent. I even buy extra bananas and let them go black since we crave this so much. The recipe mentions vanilla as an ingredient but doesn't tell you when to add it so make sure you don't forget to add it. I added it after the bananas were added. I topped the cake off with a rich butter icing. Mmmmm it's definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States