Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this delicious cake for my husband's birthday. This was my first banana cake and it turned out perfect. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used 3 bananas. I also frosted it with cream cheese frosting and topped with walnuts. Everyone loved it. It was very moist and had a great flavour. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Easy to make and very moist and scrummy! I tried a little when it was fresh out of the oven (couldn't wait!)and the moment I sliced through the cake I knew it's a success. The texture is soft but not soggy and crumbs tender. I had to help myself to a second piece! As I did not have sour cream or plain yogurt at hand, I substituted with fat-free strawberry yogurt. The cake turned out to have a hint of berry-ness which is a lovely touch. I used a little less than 1 cup of sugar to compensate for the sugar in the yogurt (plus ripe bananas are loaded with sugar!).I also sprinkled some cinnamon but not too much as you don't want to over-powder the banana flavour. Cake flour is essential to ensure light and tender texture. (This is a banana cake not banana bread, which is denser)I used a wooden spoon to mix in the bananas and flour. It's important not to overmix the batter. Be sure to use very ripe bananas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Fantastic! Very Very moist indeed. I didn't have cake flour, so I used all-purpose and added 3 tbsp cornstarch. I substituted 1/4 cup plain yogurt instead of sour cream (didn't have that either), and instead of the 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, I used 1 tablespoon. SOOOO YUMMY!!! This is a recipe I will use over and over again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was pretty good. Much more like bread than cake. Will keep looking for a more cake-like banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Just perfect. I love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Mmmm! The recipe is excellent as written. I made the following alterations: I used 3 ripe bananas which was about 1 1/2 cup and used all purpose flour since I didn't have cake flour. Replace 1/4 cup white sugar with brown sugar. Replace 1/4 cup butter with unsweetened applesauce. Replace sour cream with plain yogurt. Added 1/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. Tasty...almost like a chocolate chip cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious! I used all purpose flour (didn't have cake flour on hand) and a 9x9 pan and it came out great! Right out of the oven it was pretty moist, but the second day it was perfect; soft and fluffy. I didn't use any glazes or frostings so it tastes a little more like a coffee cake/bread, but very good. Will have again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
What a wonderful taste!!!! If you love banannas or cake you will love this recipe. Only thing I changed was the sugar. Left off 1/4 cup. Everyone raved about the cake and it disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
AMAZING! I used 3 bananas, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Everyone LOVED it and said it was the best banana bread/cake they'd ever had! It was gone in a flash. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, and it rocked! Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was easy to make. I had a bunch of bananas that were ripening and I mashed them up and made this cake. I gave it away to help my own waistline and everyone loved it, including my student's cat. Weird cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States