Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lovely! Mine turned out a smidgen flat, so I simply cut it in half, sandwiched it with passionfruit icing, then iced the top. gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very nice, light banana cake! I gave it a 4 because it could stand to have more banana, as reviewers have stated. I did it at 18 servings and baked as layers. I sprinkled some chocolate chips on mine--they sunk to the bottom, of course, and left my hubby's without because chocolate triggers migraines for him. I'll try it again with more banana, to see if I like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I had left over chocolate frosting to use. This does make a very good snack cake -- the kind you can pick up with your fingers because it is not airy, it is moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was not super impressed with this recipe, which was really disappointing given all the rave reviews! I wonder if my bananas may have been too overripe though - the reason we didn't love this is it was just too sweet. And it didn't turn out as dense as we would have liked either. Maybe I'll try it again with bananas that aren't black yet and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This cake is awesome - unbelievably moist, light and full of banana flavor. I used 3 over ripe bananas and all purpose flour instead of cake (didn't have it). While the cake didn't rise as much as I would've liked, the flavor and consistency is excellent. Now I just need to find a good icing recipe (more like a drizzle) that I can use with this cake, and it'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was delicious and moist! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very tasty and easy small cake. I do use cake flour and I cut the sugar to 1 cup (I do that for a lot of recipes because I don't like things too sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ive made it 4 times within the past week, taking it to a social gathering once. They wanted seconds! This bread without milk is amazing... so moist and holds up well after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
The best banana cake I have ever made! And, it was so easy. I upped the servings to 18 so that it would work well in a 9x13in pan and topped it with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this today, and as others suggested, used 3 bananas (1 1/2 cups)...delicious!! Moist, and very banana..eey!! I didn't have cake flour, so I used White Lilly a.p. flour, baked in a bundt pan, and topped with a frosting made with a little butter, confectioners sugar, and mashed banana. Will definitely make again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States