Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Excellent cake! It was very moist, smelled and tasted fabulous, especially with a thick layer of cream cheese frosting! Don't forget to add the vanilla, as the written directions skip that part even though it is listed in the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
It was a great recipe and I started it of by getting all the ingredients, but this is what I ended up happening to my recipe: I had to subsitute the white sugar for brown sugar and since I bought whole wheat flour instead of cake flour then I used that instead. In the end I made a healthier version of the recipe with a great taste! I served it with chocolate ice-cream and my husband and family really enjoyed it! If you want a good way to substitute the recipe and make it heart-healthy it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I didn't use as much sugar (because ripe bananas are already sweet enough for me!) and used half white and half light brown sugar. I also put in too many bananas so it came out mushy... so this is just an okay cake for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I was wavering between this and the Banana Cake VI, and I'm really glad I picked this one! Used all-purpose flour and scaled the recipe to 18 servings for a two-layer cake, added chocolate chips to the batter, then iced with cream cheese icing. I love banana everything and this far exceeded even my high hopes! I couldn't get enough of it. Two layers in 9" round pans baked for about 25 minutes, so watch it if you alter it some. Absolutely wonderful and I can't wait to have an excuse to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Personally, I like rich cakes. So I topped almost all the ingredients. Everyone who tried the cake loved the first variation the most (it has beautiful aroma, was dense, rich, moist and satisfying). Very different from the usual banana cake (bread like) recipes. Thanks! 1 cup of banana instead of what was called for. Replaced sour cream with same amount of full cream milk and approx. 1 Tbsp of cream cheese. Replaced 2/3 of white sugar with palm sugar. Added these too; 1/2 tsp of banana essence, 1/2 tsp of grounded cinnamon & 1/8 tsp of nutmeg powder. generously sprinkled assortment of nuts (peanut & almond sliced, pecans roughly chopped & raisins). In another batch, I made some changes; mixed grounded nuts (assortment) and chunky nuts (assorted with raisins) & chocolate chips into the batter. Because of the inclusion of choco chips, I reduced the sugar amount to maintain the sweetness. Top it with icing sugar n tiny weeny bit of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was soooooooooo good!! I added some chopped walnuts into the batter before baking, and it was Excellent! I will definitley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I didn't have sour cream so I used a little milk. I put it into a 9x13 pan and sprinkled chopped walnuts on top. Yum. Not too sweet and more like a snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
LOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVED IT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This cake turned out great. Soft and moist, not the least bit dry. A great afternoon tea for the family. For a little crunch add chopped pecans or walnuts to the batter, mmmm delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Excellent recipe! If you've ever tried one of the banana cakes sold in the tropical countries, then this thing is as close as it gets!! I have gathered quite a few banana cake recipes over the years, but this one is head and shoulders above the rest! Used 3 medium bananas. Substituted cake flour for all-purpose 1:1. Didn't have butter on hand, so used 8Tbls of corn oil. Added 1 cup(~100g) of chopped walnuts, everything else is exactly as listed in the recipe. Don't reduce sugar, it's really at it's best with 1 1/4 cups! Baked in the 8.5 x 4.5inch pound cake rectangle at 340F for 1hour. Results are above all expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States