Banana Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This cake was very easy to make and is very densley delicious. I made this cake with 1/2 whole wheat gram flour, too. I also added a little more banana. I think it would be good with pecans or walnuts added to it, too. Make sure you add the vanilla with the bananas as this step is left off of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this as cupcakes for a first birthday party and it was GREAT! I tried it the weekend before and made some changes for the final batch. After creaming the butter and sugar and adding the eggs, I stopped using the mixer and only beat it by hand. I did use cake flour and that made a huge difference and I guesstimated that 2 bananas would be 1 cup. It was just awesome -the cakes were light and fluffy and full of flavor. I topped it with the whipped cream cheese frosting also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I added more banana, cinnamon, a pinch of salt, 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make up for the heaviness of the brown sugar and the extra bananas; sprinkled top with walnuts. WE LOVE IT!! I drizzle ice it with the vanilla glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This cake was easy to make and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I made cake samples for a person that I am going to do their wedding cake, so I only use half of this recipe. They loved it! The moist texture and the flavor were wonderful! I did tweak the recipe with a little more banana and brown sugar, but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wren Song Heart
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
SUPER MOIST! I doubled this recipe, used nonfat organic yogurt in place of the sour cream, added a pinch of cinnamon. I ran out of white sugar and used brown sugar for the last 1/2 cup needed. Doubled the recipe called for 2 cups sugar. Increased bananas to 2.5 cups of mashed banana. Added raw sunflower seeds and organic rasians. Baked in a Huge cast iron skillet for one hour-it tested done with a knife. The oven had been preheated to 375 and then lowered to 350 before I place the batter in to bake. It came out Super Moist and it has that heavy comfort food sensation when it hits bottom. Filling as well as having some nutritional value. Next recipe I am adding 1/2 Cup ground flax and possible lowering the sugar. Then experiment each time with extra fruit, nuts, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Song Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Made this for a banana lover and he has asked for it several times since. I frost it with a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Fabulous recipe however I did modify it slightly and it had people raving. I accidentally miscalculated how much banana I had and was short by 100g so I added 100g of mashed persimmon. Just before I put it in the oven I dropped some choc melts around the top of the batter which sank to the bottom as it cooked!! Turned out gorgeous - dense yet moist with choc chunks at the bottom!! Finished it off with a real chocolate butter cream. Was cleaned up at the office!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Brooke
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
very good and very moist cake. i didn't measure the bananas exactly since i just mashed 3 and put them in. i think it was a little more than the recipe calls for. other than that i followed the recipe word for word. my husband said it's the best banana cake/bread i've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Absolutely the best! So moist and very flavorful. I used brown sugar & white sugar. I also used a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States