Banana Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
What I did to change it up a bit was use 1C spelt and 1C whole wheat flour - it was excellent, but of course a little crumblier than with all purpose wheat as called for in the recipe. It still had a good top for icing. Eating it, I'm thinking it would be good with a few raisins here and there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marthacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Delicious! I made it in an 8x8 inch pan and it turned out fine, it needed 50 minutes to bake though. I also made the same adjustment of 1 1/2tsp baking soda and 1/2tsp baking powder. Definitely way too much frosting, even half would be enough. Quite a sweet recipe but I like sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ewa Lamb
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great banana flavor. I almost didn't make it because of the mayonnaise because I thought that was a strange ingredient. But then thought about it and mayonnaise is just oil and eggs. I'm glad I went for it because this is my go to banana cake now. It is rich and moist and very flavorful. As a personal preference I like to eat the cake cold straight from the fridge. It's a great cake for company too. You can make it ahead and it keeps nicely in the fridge. Everyone I've served this cake to falls for it hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
It had a nice banana flavor i really enjoyed it, i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
So I'm 16 and I love to cook. I was really feeling like making a cake and came across this recipe. It's the best cake I have ever had, and now my grandfather is going to have it for his wedding! Anyone who says there is too much baking soda...well I don't know about that. Mine came out perfect. The only problem I had is it tells you to cook it longer then it needs too. I made mine a double layer, in 9 inch round pans and it cooked very fast. So I would reduce the time to 30 minutes. But other then that this cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good, moist recipe. These are the changes I made: 1.used light miracle whip instead of mayonnaise 2. 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda & 1/2 tsp. baking powder 3. reduced sugar to 1/2 cup 4. added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla 5. covered pans half- way through baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This cake is very strange. It didnt raise very high plus it has a texture some what of uncooked cake. Still my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
When I try a new receipe I double check everything my ingredients , the reviews then I start , I made this receipes with the suggestions of subtracting 1/2 t baking soda and adding 1/2 t baking powder it was awful, it rose maybe to 1/2 inch and was mushy after baking 55 minutes not good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The cake did get pretty good reviews from my family and friend that were here. I noticed a very mild onion flavor, which I thought was my imagination at first. I assume that is from the cheap mayo I used. The frosting was awesome and I used the leftovers as dip for some teddy grahams. I will be looking for a mayo free recipe for my next overripe bananas. (based on prior reviews I did reduce the amount of baking soda and added baking powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This cake and frosting were both delicious. I did reduce the baking soda to 1 1/2 teaspoon and add a 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Turned out great. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States