Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Make no mistake, this is banana CAKE, not banana BREAD. It is light, fluffy and, for some reason I don’t understand, looks like a yellow cake rather than the darker, banana flecked cake I would have expected. It’s pleasantly sweet, buttery rich and moist. I prepared the recipe as written save for substituting buttermilk for the sour milk. This recipe was just perfect for the cupcakes I used it for, frosted with Texas Chocolate Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used half and half with lemon juice I didn't have buttermilk. Also used KA cake flour and 3 ripe bananas. Best banana anything I've had.Didn't frost it, I ate 2 big pieces as soon as it cooled. Cut a piece for my wife and gave rest to my daughter,or it wouldn't have stood a chance of lasting 8 hrs. around me.It's going to be my go too cake. 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Just bake this today and how should I put this. This cake is an almost perfect banana cake! It's dense yet so moist. But I substitute half of 3/4 butter with canola oil and it turned out perfect! I'm satisfied with it ;) thank you for the recipe! I would recommend this recipe to anyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
very tasty, like another reviewer I too had a problem with it rising so it was a little dense rather then a fluffy cake but it still was very tasty. I believe the reason mine did not rise is it was the first thing I made with my new KitchenAid and I think I over mixed it too easy to do with new gagets. I will definately make this again. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this for the second time and it turned out perfect. I like it much better than banana bread, it's less dense and fantastic with cream cheese icing or as is. I used sour cream instead of sour milk, 1/2 cup butter + 1/4 applesauce, only 1 cup sugar, I also added a little cinnamon & nutmeg. Baked for 35 minutes. The browner the bananas the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
the batter tasted really good, was a bit thicker than a from-mix cake. added 1/2 tsp more vanilla. I baked in 2x 9 inch rounds, the cakes rose ok, not over the edge of the pans, but I think that might have more to do with my oven than the recipe. they smell really good, tomorrow I will frost with peanut butter frosting. after I cut it I will know if its a 5 star recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I am laughing because other reviews said this cake was light. I must have done something wrong because, although the cake was moist, it was quite dense. The joke is, my son and daughter-in-law loved it because it was dense!. They have a favorite (expensive) bakery that makes very dense cakes and that is why they like it so well. Now, if I make it again, they will be disappointed if it turns out light. Lol. In any case, they want me to keep making this cake. I did make sour milk with vinegar. Maybe that had something to do with the problem or sucess. I guess I will find out when I make it again. The flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Make this just as written and you won't be disappointed. But be sure to use real buttermilk. The substitute may 'work' but it will not yield quite the same results. This cake is fluffy, moist and full of flavor. I frosted it with "Banana Nut Frosting" from this site and what a wonderful combination it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Just made this recipe into cupcakes! Followed ingredients exactly, just measured into paper-lined muffin tin, filling cups almost to the top of the paper. Baked for 25 minutes at 350. They stayed pretty flat, didn't rise up too high. Torn between making a caramel frosting or a peanut butter frosting! I did just try one plain, and they are really really good! Very soft and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made this cake today using 1c white sugar and 1/2c brown sugar. Everything else I used was as the recipe stated. I find the cake to be rather bland and dry. I topped it with a coconut cream cheese frosting, which make it eatable, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States