Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My mother-in-law has been having me make her this cake about once a week. She and her husband really like it. I like it also. This last week I decide to try half brown sugar half white sugar and that made a nice top on it. I used about 3 bananas well browned. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made exactly as stated, it was the best moist banana cake. I did not frost the cake, I didn't think it needed it. For the sour milk I used 1tbsp of lemon juice and then added the milk to equal the 3/4 cup. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Absolutely melt in your mouth cake! So rich and delicious! I used milk and plain yogurt since I did not have sour milk on hand. And used 2 tsp vanilla essence since I didn't have extract. Baked it in 2 loaf tins. Best banana cake I've tasted and made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Make no mistake, this is banana CAKE, not banana BREAD. It is light, fluffy and, for some reason I don’t understand, looks like a yellow cake rather than the darker, banana flecked cake I would have expected. It’s pleasantly sweet, buttery rich and moist. I prepared the recipe as written save for substituting buttermilk for the sour milk. This recipe was just perfect for the cupcakes I used it for, frosted with Texas Chocolate Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used half and half with lemon juice I didn't have buttermilk. Also used KA cake flour and 3 ripe bananas. Best banana anything I've had.Didn't frost it, I ate 2 big pieces as soon as it cooled. Cut a piece for my wife and gave rest to my daughter,or it wouldn't have stood a chance of lasting 8 hrs. around me.It's going to be my go too cake. 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Just bake this today and how should I put this. This cake is an almost perfect banana cake! It's dense yet so moist. But I substitute half of 3/4 butter with canola oil and it turned out perfect! I'm satisfied with it ;) thank you for the recipe! I would recommend this recipe to anyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
very tasty, like another reviewer I too had a problem with it rising so it was a little dense rather then a fluffy cake but it still was very tasty. I believe the reason mine did not rise is it was the first thing I made with my new KitchenAid and I think I over mixed it too easy to do with new gagets. I will definately make this again. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this for the second time and it turned out perfect. I like it much better than banana bread, it's less dense and fantastic with cream cheese icing or as is. I used sour cream instead of sour milk, 1/2 cup butter + 1/4 applesauce, only 1 cup sugar, I also added a little cinnamon & nutmeg. Baked for 35 minutes. The browner the bananas the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
the batter tasted really good, was a bit thicker than a from-mix cake. added 1/2 tsp more vanilla. I baked in 2x 9 inch rounds, the cakes rose ok, not over the edge of the pans, but I think that might have more to do with my oven than the recipe. they smell really good, tomorrow I will frost with peanut butter frosting. after I cut it I will know if its a 5 star recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I am laughing because other reviews said this cake was light. I must have done something wrong because, although the cake was moist, it was quite dense. The joke is, my son and daughter-in-law loved it because it was dense!. They have a favorite (expensive) bakery that makes very dense cakes and that is why they like it so well. Now, if I make it again, they will be disappointed if it turns out light. Lol. In any case, they want me to keep making this cake. I did make sour milk with vinegar. Maybe that had something to do with the problem or sucess. I guess I will find out when I make it again. The flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States