Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This recipe turned out very well. It made 24 standard cupcakes (took about 17 minutes to bake so I question whether or not a round pan would bake that quickly as described). I paired it with a peanut butter buttercream frosting and the whole family loved it. My only complaint is that I was hoping they would turn out a bit fluffier than they did. But then again, bananas are a heavy fruit so I doubt you can get any banana cake made with real bananas to be as light and fluffy as a regular cake. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We have just two pieces left of this yummy banana cake. I followed the recipe exactly - had intended to add cinnamon as others suggested, but forgot. I baked the cake in a bundt pan and set timer for 45 minutes; left it in for an additional 2. I felt that it still could have cooked for another couple of minutes but my sweetheart said it was perfect as it was. I was going to drizzle frosting on it but we decided to have it plain. He's English so put cream over his; I tasted it and, well, what's not to like. I like it perfectly well plain. It's very moist and as one reviewer said, "has a tender crumb." There's good banana flavor but yet you don't feel as though you are eating banana bread. I will make this again, definitely. Thank you for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Following CSANDOVAL's review, this is the most amazing cake I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
first off,i used shortening instead of butter, and buttermilk in place of the sour milk. then I only had two bananas so it didn't make quite a whole cup, so I filled the rest of the measuring cup with more buttermilk. and I made two nine inch rounds, but it took thirty minutes not twenty, though it might be twenty minutes if youre using dark or coated pans as this speeds the baking process. it looks very good and came up high. well see tomorrow how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This cake is pretty good. I mainly chose to make it because I had 3 small/med. over ripe bananas I needed to use. When mashed they made exactly 1c. I baked it in a 9x13 pan, and it was done in 30 min. I used all the butter I had in the cake and didn't have any to make frosting. I sprinkled chocolate chips all over the top, a few minutes before it was done, to melt and spread in lieu of frosting. I guess we like it, because there are only 3 of us AND only 3 little pieces left a mere 5 hours later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9" pan for about 30 minutes. Since I couldn't halve an egg, I used just one egg and a little more mashed banana. I ended up using two bananas for 3/4 cup. The cake is very moist. I topped it with a basic cream cheese frosting. The cake has great banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This cake was delicious. I took it to work and not one crumb was left. At Alex - your cake was flat. Check the expiration dates on your baking powder and baking soda. If it is near expiration or past, you need to throw it away and buy new. Your cakes will not raise unless these two items are "good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have any sour milk so I used soy milk with lemon juice to make "sour milk" & I used vanilla frosting with sugar sprinkles! Everyone loved it! I def. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This cake is really delicious and a great alternative to dense banana bread. I make it all the time for company. I never do the freezer part and it always turns out moist. If I make it the day before, I make the icing but keep it separate and put the icing right before I want to serve it. That way I can keep the cake out of the fridge, which keeps it soft and moist. Once it has the icing you should refrigerate it, and the cake gets harder after that, definitely not as good. I also sprinkle it with chopped pecans. If you have friends who don't like icing, sprinkle chopped walnuts on the batter before baking and they will bake right into the top, then sprinkle with some powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turkey Burgher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My mother-in-law has been having me make her this cake about once a week. She and her husband really like it. I like it also. This last week I decide to try half brown sugar half white sugar and that made a nice top on it. I used about 3 bananas well browned. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States