Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is the best Banana Cake I have ever had.I will only make this recipe from now on.It is the moistest cake and it doesnt need any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of making cupcakes rather than a cake. I made them big, filling the cups almost full. Baked for 18 minutes @ 350 and they were moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very moist and flavorful cake. I don't care for banana flavoring but I loved this cake. Did not need any icing but am going to try it with a fuit compote that I made tonight. I think any warm fruit would be nice with this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
LOVE IT!!! I made this recipe today and it was amazing! I didn't have sour milk on hand so I did what another reader did and used 1/2 a cup sour cream and 1/4 a cup milk. And it turned out so moist and delicious! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used this recipe to make mini cupcakes and they came out delicious! Definitely recommend you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wonderful cake! I made this into cupcakes and it made 24 perfect, moist and spongy cakes. I added 2 tsp. cinnamon and frosted it with a double batch of "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing" from this site. I would have liked to have made a cream cheese icing for this cake, but didn't have any cream cheese. I get the best results when making homeade cake by making sure to really beat the butter and sugar well (medium speed for at least 2 minutes). I then added the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Then I added the bananas. Add the milk and flour mixture alternately just until incorporated. I baked them for about 23 minutes. To make the sour milk, I put 3/4 Tbsp. vinegar in a measuring cup and added milk to make 3/4 cup. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I totally agree with the other reviewers. This cake was moist, soft, delicious. I mixed the sugar and butter, before adding other ingredients, as has been suggested by other reviewers. I followed almost the entire recipe. The only substitution I made was using buttermilk instead of sour milk (but that was because I didn't know what sour milk exactly meant.) Buttermilk can be homemade with full-fat milk and some lemon juice added, so I guess it must have the same effect as sour milk. Anyway, the muffins came out great! I made exactly 21 muffins with this recipe. I had to put them in the oven for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This cake came out great. Fluffy, light, and moist. Filled a 9x13 pan almost to the top when baked. I did the sour cream milk mixture suggested by another reviewer and added mini chocolate chips. It did not need frosting at all. Super delicious all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used this as a base for a "Banana Pudding" cake I made. It turned out great. I did separate my eggs and folded my whipped egg whites last though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Delicious - my family loved it - even with skim milk. (I didnt have sour milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States