Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very good and moist cake. I baked it in a bundt pan and topped it with a chocolate glaze. Very Yummy! Will be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this cake yesterday and the center sunk. I followed the recipe except, as read in other reviews, used 1/2c sour cream and 1/4c milk instead of sour milk. I creamed the sugar and butter together first for at least 2 minutes, then added one egg at a time, then the vanilla, mixing between all that. I greased and floured the pan. I checked it at 20 minutes, but it was obvious that it wasn't done. At 33 minutes I thought it was done. The edges were quite brown and pulled away from the pan, the cake was golden, domed, and springy to the touch in the center. Toothpick came out clean. I took it out of the oven and onto a rack, and a few minutes later, the center had sunk. There were spots that it was not cooked well enough in the center, but something else went wrong for sure. I don't know what though. Others have had the same problem in their reviews. The cake was edible along the edges, but my husband said he could barely taste the banana. A lot of work for major disappointment. Looking for another banana cake recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and found it wasn't that moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wow. I thought this was a very moist cake. I used the vinegar tip to make the sour milk and opps and put it all in, instea of just a 3/4 cup. I was a bit shy on the banana so I added some homemade cinnamon applesauce and I put about a spoonfull extra to help with the sour milk. It turned out great. All the boys in hubbies shop loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very Good Flavor! Everyone gobbled it up! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is the best Banana Cake I have ever had.I will only make this recipe from now on.It is the moistest cake and it doesnt need any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of making cupcakes rather than a cake. I made them big, filling the cups almost full. Baked for 18 minutes @ 350 and they were moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very moist and flavorful cake. I don't care for banana flavoring but I loved this cake. Did not need any icing but am going to try it with a fuit compote that I made tonight. I think any warm fruit would be nice with this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
LOVE IT!!! I made this recipe today and it was amazing! I didn't have sour milk on hand so I did what another reader did and used 1/2 a cup sour cream and 1/4 a cup milk. And it turned out so moist and delicious! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used this recipe to make mini cupcakes and they came out delicious! Definitely recommend you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States