Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake turned out fabulous! Make sure your bananas are nice and soft and I even added a bit more the second time I made it. To make it a totally different cake out of one recipe I added a cup of coconut to the recipe and then made Cream cheese frosting with Coconut added! YUMMY..this is a very versatile cake. I bake a lot and this one works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pieske

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good and very easy. My kids loved it and ate it up without any icing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my hubby can cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is the best banana cake recipe I've found! My only criticism is that the baking time is always much longer than called for. I often make this in two 8"x8" pans in order to reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I don't know how anyone can be unhappy with this recipe. I had a little more than a cup of banana only because 2 wasn't quite a cup and 3 was more than a cup. Other than that, followed the recipe to a T (it did take a LITTLE longer in the oven because of the extra banana I assume). It was moist and VERY flavorful. I topped with a cream cheese frosting as suggested and it was perfection. DEFINITELY adding this one to my 'must do again' recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This cake was amazingly delicious. It was light and fluffy, definitely cake, not the bread-like texture many other reviewers (and I) expected. Obviously you should make sure that you use very ripe bananas or it will be very starchy, not sweet enough, and will not have the banana flavor you are looking for. I received rave reviews from everyone who had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
such a good cake, moist, flavorful and just delicious . I made this in mini cupcakes and in a cake and both were amazing! will make this again. was very easy to make and a great way to get rid of over ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Everyone thought this cake was great. Nice change if you want something different. Love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this cake for an event at my son's school and it was a big hit. I took the advice of a couple of other reviewers and frosted it with simple chocolate frosting. I found the texture to be light and not heavy at all - I did make sure to thoroughly cream the butter, sugar, and eggs in my kitchenaide mixer. I think this is the key to ending up with a light cake. Yummy. Highly Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This cake was too dense for me (several of my guests agreed). We thought it tasted a little "flour-y" as well. I frosted it with "Banana Cream Frosting" from this site. Fortunately, that is a light whipped topping. If I had used something heavy (like a cream cheese-based frosting), it would have been way too heavy on the tongue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States