Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I am laughing because other reviews said this cake was light. I must have done something wrong because, although the cake was moist, it was quite dense. The joke is, my son and daughter-in-law loved it because it was dense!. They have a favorite (expensive) bakery that makes very dense cakes and that is why they like it so well. Now, if I make it again, they will be disappointed if it turns out light. Lol. In any case, they want me to keep making this cake. I did make sour milk with vinegar. Maybe that had something to do with the problem or sucess. I guess I will find out when I make it again. The flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Make this just as written and you won't be disappointed. But be sure to use real buttermilk. The substitute may 'work' but it will not yield quite the same results. This cake is fluffy, moist and full of flavor. I frosted it with "Banana Nut Frosting" from this site and what a wonderful combination it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Just made this recipe into cupcakes! Followed ingredients exactly, just measured into paper-lined muffin tin, filling cups almost to the top of the paper. Baked for 25 minutes at 350. They stayed pretty flat, didn't rise up too high. Torn between making a caramel frosting or a peanut butter frosting! I did just try one plain, and they are really really good! Very soft and sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made this cake today using 1c white sugar and 1/2c brown sugar. Everything else I used was as the recipe stated. I find the cake to be rather bland and dry. I topped it with a coconut cream cheese frosting, which make it eatable, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I am a pretty novice baker, but gave this recipe my best shot, and my goodness, did it ever work out well. Very moist, but not the same consistency as banana bread, which I was very pleased about. Made the same substitutions as another reviewer, subbing in sour cream and milk for the sour milk. Amazing! Don't be thrown off when you mix the dry with most of the wet ingredients - it will be very thick like a dough - and make sure not to over mix - once you add the mashed bananas and remaining liquids, it turns into a nice cake batter. Brought the cake to an evening class and people were taking seconds they liked it so much! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I added 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips and baked donuts in my donuts pan; iced with a thin chocolate glaze...they turned out perfect! My kids, and all of their friends, ate them as fast as I could make them! Thank you for the great recipe...I know that I will be making these again! I think that I will try applesauce in place of the banana and add cinnamon; dust with cinnamon and confectioners sugar too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I found this recipe looking for a quick and easy cake to use my over-ripe bananas. It is not only quick to prepare, but is delicious with or without frosting! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good, not great - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very delicious. I used half white whole wheat flour & half regular flour. I poked holes with a fork and then poured a powdered sugar and water icing over the cake...it made it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was amazing! Light & fluffy and not overwhelmingly banana. Added some cinnamon & used plain yogurt instead of the sour milk. Didn't bother with the frosting. It's great on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States