Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We messed up when making this recipe. My friend threw all of the ingredients into a bowl at once and attacked it with a hand mixer until it resembled batter, then baked it... And it came out PERFECT. Moist and sweet (but not overly sweet), even though the bananas we used probably weren't as ripe as they should have been. Covered it in Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting (also from this site), and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
alex...it sounds as if you forgot to add the eggs...that's the only thing I can come up with. I made the recipe today, only I substituted splenda for the sugar...very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this last night and everyone (myself included) loved the taste. I'm wondering what I did wrong for it to turn out a bit dense and more like bread than cake. Recipe says to "beat well" but I was afraid the batter could've turned out like glue. How long do I beat the batter for? Or what else could I do different? Thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delicious. Great banana flavor in a fluffy cake. I made mini muffins and dipped them in almond bark. Cooked 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The only reason I'm rating this cake a 4 is I didn't find the banana flavour very intense. I used just over 1 cup (3 bananas) but I think I will add a 4th banana next time. The texture of the cake was exactly what I was looking for though. A fluffy cake! not a dense solid banana bread that most of the cakes I have tried on here have turned out to be. For some extra flavour I also took 1 cup of batter and added 5 tbsp cinnamon to it. I then spread that on top of the cake in the pan and used a knife to swirl it through. Not necessary by any means, but just something we like the taste of. Yes ladies and gentleman, this really is a Banana CAKE! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe. But instead of a big cake I made it into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great flavor, but it was a lot denser than I was hoping for. I'm looking for a fluffier banana cake recipe. I wonder if I should make a white cake with banana extract...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan  and Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a moist, delicious cake and I will definitely be making it again! Served it with a cream cheese frosting and it was a huge hit. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
so fluffy and nice to have a CAKE not a bread recipe. I have tried many MANY recipes to put my spin on and I don't have to really change a thing with this! I love it... I think the type of frosting used will change the flavor of the cake. I used both cream cheese and a whipped and it gave two completely different delicious outcomes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bek's Bakery
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
wow I have been looking for light fluffy banana cake for years and this is it. Thanks. I iced mine with brown sugar icing. Got lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States