Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Everyone thought this cake was great. Nice change if you want something different. Love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this cake for an event at my son's school and it was a big hit. I took the advice of a couple of other reviewers and frosted it with simple chocolate frosting. I found the texture to be light and not heavy at all - I did make sure to thoroughly cream the butter, sugar, and eggs in my kitchenaide mixer. I think this is the key to ending up with a light cake. Yummy. Highly Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This cake was too dense for me (several of my guests agreed). We thought it tasted a little "flour-y" as well. I frosted it with "Banana Cream Frosting" from this site. Fortunately, that is a light whipped topping. If I had used something heavy (like a cream cheese-based frosting), it would have been way too heavy on the tongue..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My 4 year old asked for banana cake for his birthday and I wanted a recipe that didn't taste like banana bread. This was great the day I made it, but I must say it tasted superb the next day when it had been in the fridge! I put a cream cheese frosting on it, but I would have preferred it with nothing at all. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added some finely chopped walnuts. My husband took 1 bite and said it was the best banana cake he ever had. EXCELLENT RECIPE! And it was really quick to make. I had to bake it for about 50 minutes in a heart shaped springform insert (would have been equiv of 2-9" rounds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I browned the butter and used sour cream in place of the milk. Topped with a glaze of 2 tbsp browned butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 3 tbsp milk. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Best banana cake...moist light flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was a great cake! Made it for my sons 10th birthday and it was a BIG hit :-)! Thank you for sharing with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I made this cake just for fun and i had always wondered what a banana cake tasted like! I was very good i made it as cupcakes and used half of the recipe. I changed a few things though. I had just baked something before this and used the last eggs so i used buttermilk i also subsituted buttermilk for sour milk. And i used 1/3 of the amount of sugar as brown sugar. I would use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I frosted this with chocolate frosting.. I think next time I'll just leave off the frosting. I think the cake is good by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
LOVE IT! So light and fluffy. Used other reviewer tip for sour milk (1 cup milk to 2 tbs vinegar, but only still use 3/4 cup) and added choco chips to have my batch (I made cupcakes -20 min, mini cupcakes 15 min) Chocolate chips won! So great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States