Banana Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I love the texture of this cake. It is moist and light with a subtle banana flavor. I used cake flour in place of the all-purpose and buttermilk for the sour milk. Really delicious. We enjoyed it without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was so good! I always try to make recipes a little healthier for my family and here is what I did... Used 3 ripe bananas. Instead of 3/4 cup of butter, I used 6 TBL butter softened and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce(next time I will use 4 TBL butter softened and 1/2 cup applesauce. I used 3/4 cup of sugar, instead of 1 1/2 cups. I used 2 cups whole white wheat flour and 1/2 cup AP flour, instead of 2 1/2 cups AP flour. Then just used buttermilk instead of sour milk. This cake came out so light, fluffy, moist and delicious! It was sweet enough with the reduced sugar and then the icing added sweetness aswell. I baked this cake in a 9x13 pan at 350 for 20-25 minutes. I used half of the white chocolate cream cheese icing from this site by BAKERAMA: Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake turned out fabulous! Make sure your bananas are nice and soft and I even added a bit more the second time I made it. To make it a totally different cake out of one recipe I added a cup of coconut to the recipe and then made Cream cheese frosting with Coconut added! YUMMY..this is a very versatile cake. I bake a lot and this one works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pieske

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good and very easy. My kids loved it and ate it up without any icing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my hubby can cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is the best banana cake recipe I've found! My only criticism is that the baking time is always much longer than called for. I often make this in two 8"x8" pans in order to reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I don't know how anyone can be unhappy with this recipe. I had a little more than a cup of banana only because 2 wasn't quite a cup and 3 was more than a cup. Other than that, followed the recipe to a T (it did take a LITTLE longer in the oven because of the extra banana I assume). It was moist and VERY flavorful. I topped with a cream cheese frosting as suggested and it was perfection. DEFINITELY adding this one to my 'must do again' recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This cake was amazingly delicious. It was light and fluffy, definitely cake, not the bread-like texture many other reviewers (and I) expected. Obviously you should make sure that you use very ripe bananas or it will be very starchy, not sweet enough, and will not have the banana flavor you are looking for. I received rave reviews from everyone who had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
such a good cake, moist, flavorful and just delicious . I made this in mini cupcakes and in a cake and both were amazing! will make this again. was very easy to make and a great way to get rid of over ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Everyone thought this cake was great. Nice change if you want something different. Love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States