Banana Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
The cake was delicious!!! It was very moist and light. My son also enjoyed mashing the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
this luscious cake beats them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Excellent! Great flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This cake was WONDERFUL!!!!! It was VERY moist, had a great texture and the taste...my mouth waters just thinking about it. Loved it!! I did have to cook it about 20 minutes longer than the recipe called for as the batter was very heavy. May have been my mistake but the wait was WELL WORTH IT!! Thanks Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS MURRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Very moist, very good texture. I personally do not care for icing, so next time I would make mine a bit sweeter. I baked very early in the morning and did not notice that I needed cake flour until I had already measured all the ingredients. So instead, I used all purpose flour. To retain the moisture, I added an additional three tablespoons of milk and three tablespoons of vegetable oil. I iced it with Banana Butter Icing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Moist and flavorful! Great cake, Syd. No problems with this recipe. I frosted the cake with the whipped cream frosting from this site. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Heavenly banana flavor! Frosted this delicious treat with a cream cheese icing into which I blended a mashed banana,and a bit of vanilla. Even better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I used a bundt pan and made a banana pound cake. I used 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown sugar...that was plenty. I also added about 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I believe that bananas, brown sugar and cinnamon harmonize so I included them in this cake. I skipped on the icing but would recommend using one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I made this as a birthday cake for my mom, and we both loved it. For extra banana flavor, I added a box of banana flavored instant pudding to the batter. My mom wanted a cake that tasted like a banana split, so I also mixed in about a half a bag of semisweet chocolate chips. I used strawberry jelly in between cake layers, frosted the cake with chocolate frosting, and topped it with coconut. It turned out amazingly. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I used this recipe to build a sculpted birthday cake (shape of a monkey.) The recipe was nice and sturdy and shaved off well. So if you're into that sort of creative thing, this is a great recipe! And tastes delicious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States